- Clarksville, TN Online - http://www.clarksvilleonline.com -

Clarksville, TN Online: News, Opinion, Arts & Entertainment.

More Tennessee Counties added to Federal Disaster Declaration

Posted By News Staff On Saturday, June 4, 2011 @ 2:00 am In News | No Comments

25 Additional Counties Now Eligible for Federal Recovery Assistance
Blount, Campbell, Fentress, Franklin, Giles, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Knox, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Loudon, Marshall, Montgomery, Moore, Perry, Pickett, Polk, Scott, Sequatchie, Smith, Sullivan,Wayne

Tennessee Emergency Management AgencyNashville, TN – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam announced today the federal government will provide Individual Assistance in two counties and Public Assistance to local governments in 25 counties under the current disaster declaration for the severe storms, straight-line winds and tornadoes of April 25th to April 28th, 2011, with a federal designation of DR-1974.

“I am pleased the federal government will be providing assistance to additional counties and individuals in Tennessee so they can begin rebuilding their lives and communities,” Haslam said.  “This has been a trying year for many of our neighbors, and our local and state agencies are working very closely to make sure we identify where help is needed so we can recover from these severe weather incidents.”

Individual Assistance

Individuals in Knox and Montgomery counties are now eligible for federal assistance and residents who sustained losses in these counties can begin applying for assistance immediately through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), by registering online at www.disasterassistance.gov [1] or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362).

More information on FEMA’s Individual Assistance program is available at www.fema.gov/assistance/index.shtm [2].

Public Assistance

FEMA has approved 10 counties in east Tennessee and 15 counties in middle Tennessee as eligible to receive federal reimbursement in all categories of FEMA’s Public Assistance program.

The east Tennessee counties include: Blount, Campbell, Fentress, Knox, Loudon, Pickett, Polk, Scott, Sequatchie and Sullivan.

The middle Tennessee counties include: Franklin, Giles, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Lawrence, Lewis, Lincoln, Marshall, Montgomery, Moore, Perry, Smith, and Wayne.

The designation for Public Assistance allows government entities and certain private non-profits in the designated counties to apply for reimbursement of specific expenses related to disaster response and recovery.

More information on FEMA’s Public Assistance program can be found at www.fema.gov/government/grant/pa/index.shtm [3].

More information on Tennessee’s four federal disaster declarations in 2011 can be found on FEMA’s website here: DR-1965, DR-1974, DR-1978 and DR-1979.

For more updates regarding the state’s response, visit the TEMA website at www.tnema.org [4].

Article printed from Clarksville, TN Online: http://www.clarksvilleonline.com

URL to article: http://www.clarksvilleonline.com/2011/06/04/more-tennessee-counties-added-to-federal-disaster-declaration/

URLs in this post:

[1] www.disasterassistance.gov: http://www.disasterassistance.gov/

[2] www.fema.gov/assistance/index.shtm: http://www.fema.gov/assistance/index.shtm

[3] www.fema.gov/government/grant/pa/index.shtm: http://www.fema.gov/government/grant/pa/index.shtm

[4] www.tnema.org: http://www.tnema.org/

[5] Facebook: http://www.clarksvilleonline.com/2011/06/04/more-tennessee-counties-added-to-federal-disaster-declaration/?share=facebook

[6] Twitter: http://www.clarksvilleonline.com/2011/06/04/more-tennessee-counties-added-to-federal-disaster-declaration/?share=twitter

[7] Google: http://www.clarksvilleonline.com/2011/06/04/more-tennessee-counties-added-to-federal-disaster-declaration/?share=google-plus-1

[8] Pinterest: http://www.clarksvilleonline.com/2011/06/04/more-tennessee-counties-added-to-federal-disaster-declaration/?share=pinterest

© 2015 Clarksville Online