Clarksville, TN Online: News, Opinion, Arts & Entertainment.

Tennessee Department of Safety installs Self-Service Kiosks across Tennessee for faster Driver License Renewals


Several Kiosks located in Middle Tennessee

Tennessee Department of SafetyNashville, TN – The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security has added another option for citizens seeking to renew or replace their driver licenses. Commissioner Bill Gibbons announced Tuesday that the Driver Services Division has installed 30 self-service driver license kiosks at various locations across Tennessee.

Citizens may renew or replace an existing driver license or state identification card and pay for the transaction with a credit or debit card at the kiosks. The technology takes citizens’ photographs for use on the driver licenses.

As a security measure, the kiosks perform facial verification with the image on record. The citizen leaves the kiosk with a paper interim document for use until the secure driver license or ID card is received. The interim license is valid for 20 days. The secure driver license or ID card is mailed to the applicant’s home within 5-7 business days.

Several self-service kiosks are located throughout middle Tennessee, including Davidson, Williamson, Wilson Rutherford, Montgomery, Sumner, Macon, Jackson, DeKalb, Bedford and Hickman Counties.

“We are giving citizens another choice when it comes time to renew or replace their driver licenses.  Many of the kiosks are located at alternate locations, redirecting traffic from our driver service centers and freeing up the staff there for more complicated transactions. Our ultimate goals are better customer service and reducing the average wait time in driver service centers to no more than 20 minutes,” Gibbons said.

A total of 40 self-service kiosks are scheduled to be installed and operating statewide by the end of February. The kiosks are primarily located in urban areas with larger populations.

The department has partnered with various local governments and several AAA branches to provide alternate locations for the kiosks, providing more sites to complete simple renewal and duplicate services. While the majority of kiosks are installed at alternate locations, some have been installed at various driver service centers.

While the addition of self-service kiosks is one of several new options to improve wait times and enhance customer service, the department is also taking many steps to ensure higher security in driver license issuance.

In the coming months, the department will begin using a central issuance process, in which driver licenses will be mailed from a central, secure location to the citizen’s home. Also, the department will soon use facial verification technology to help reduce fraudulent issuance of driver licenses and cut down on identity crimes cases.

The state first purchased three kiosks to use on a pilot basis using federal grant funds for a total of $165,000. The remaining 37 kiosks were purchased for $45,000 each, a total of $1,665,000, using state system development funds.

Driver Services’ self-service kiosks are in use in Middle Tennessee at the following locations:

Davidson County

  • Centennial Boulevard Driver Service Center, 6604 Centennial Boulevard, Nashville
  • Hart Lane Driver Service Center, 624 Hart Lane, Nashville

Williamson County

  • AAA Cool Springs, 1701 Mallory Lane, Brentwood
  • Williamson County Driver Service Center, 3830 Carothers Parkway (2 kiosks)

Wilson County

  • Mt. Juliet Police Department, 2425 North Mt. Juliet Road, Mt. Juliet

Rutherford County

  • Rutherford County Driver Service Center, 1035 Samsonite Boulevard, Murfreesboro
  • Rutherford County Clerk’s Office, 205 I Street, Smyrna

Montgomery County

  • Montgomery County Election Commission, 350 Pageant Lane #404, Clarksville

Sumner County

  • Hendersonville City Hall, 104 Maple Drive North, Hendersonville

Macon County

  • Macon County Clerk’s Office, 104 Macon County Courthouse, Lafayette

Jackson County

  • Jackson County Courthouse, 101 East Hull Avenue, Gainesboro

DeKalb County

  • Administrative Services Building, 722 South Congress Boulevard, Smithville

Bedford County

  • Bedford County Courthouse – East Wing, 1 Public Square, Shelbyville

Hickman County

  • Hickman County Clerk’s Office, 114 N. Central Avenue, Suite 204, Centerville

A complete list of all self-service kiosk locations can be found on .

About the Tennessee Department of Safety

The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security’s (www.TN.Gov/safety) mission is to ensure the safety and general welfare of the public. The department encompasses the Tennessee Highway Patrol, the Office of Homeland Security and Driver License Services. General areas of responsibility include law enforcement, safety education, motorist services and terrorism prevention.




, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On GooglePlusVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On YoutubeCheck Our FeedVisit Us On Instagram
  • Personal Controls