Clarksville, TN Online: News, Opinion, Arts & Entertainment.


NASA Television to air live coverage of record breaking Asteroid Flyby of Earth

 

Written by Dr. Tony Phillips
Science at NASA

NASA - National Aeronautics and Space AdministrationWashington, D.C. – NASA Television will provide commentary starting at 2:00pm EST (1:00pm CST) on Friday, February 15th, during the close, but safe, flyby of a small near-Earth asteroid named “2012 DA14.”

NASA places a high priority on tracking asteroids and protecting our home planet from them. This flyby will provide a unique opportunity for researchers to study a near-Earth object up close.

YouTube Preview Image

The half-hour broadcast from NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in Pasadena, CA, will incorporate real-time animation to show the location of the asteroid in relation to Earth, along with live or near real-time views of the asteroid from observatories in Australia, weather permitting.

At the time of its closest approach to Earth at approximately 2:25pm EST (1:25pm CST/ 19:25 UTC), the asteroid will be about 17,150 miles (27,600 kilometers) above Earth’s surface. Measuring approximately 50 meters wide, 2012 DA14 is about half the size of a football field.

Since regular sky surveys began in the 1990s, astronomers have never seen an object this big come so close to our planet. The asteroid will actually pass closer to Earth than many man made satellites.

The commentary will be available via NASA TV and streamed live online at http://www.nasa.gov/ntv and http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2

In addition to the commentary, near real-time imagery of the asteroid’s flyby before and after closest approach, made available to NASA by astronomers in Australia and Europe, weather permitting, will be streamed beginning at about noon EST (11:00am CST) and continuing through the afternoon at http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2

Also, a Ustream feed of the flyby from a telescope at NASA’s Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, AL, will be streamed for three hours starting at 9:00pm EST (8:00pm CST). To view the feed and ask researchers questions about the flyby via Twitter, visit http://www.ustream.tv/channel/nasa-msfc

For more information, including graphics and animations showing the flyby of 2012 DA14, visit www.nasa.gov/asteroidflyby


Sections

Technology

Topics

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.


Personal Controls

Archives