Clarksville, TN Online: News, Opinion, Arts & Entertainment.


NASA reports Small Asteroid to pass between Earth and Moon Tonight

 

NASA - National Aeronautics and Space AdministrationPasadena, CA – NASA says a small asteroid 2013 LR6 will safely fly past this evening at 10:42pm CDT (which is June 8th at 12:42am EDT/June 8th at 04:42 UTC) at a distance of about 65,000 miles (105,000 kilometers) above Earth’s surface.

The space rock, which is about 30 feet (10 meters) in diameter, will be above the Southern Ocean, south of Tasmania, at the time of closest approach. Asteroid 2013 LR6 was discovered by the NASA-sponsored Catalina Sky Survey on June 6th.

This illustration shows the path of the small asteroid 2013 LR6, which will safely pass within 65,000 miles (105,000 kilometers) of Earth on June 7th at 10:42pm CDT (June 8th at 12:42 a.m. EDT). (Image credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech.)

This illustration shows the path of the small asteroid 2013 LR6, which will safely pass within 65,000 miles (105,000 kilometers) of Earth on June 7th at 10:42pm CDT (June 8th at 12:42 a.m. EDT). (Image credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech.)

NASA’s Near-Earth Object Program at NASA Headquarters, Washington, manages and funds the search, study and monitoring of asteroids and comets whose orbits periodically bring them close to Earth.

JPL manages the Near-Earth Object Program Office for NASA’s Science Mission Directorate in Washington. JPL is a division of the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena.

More information about asteroids and near-Earth objects is available at: http://neo.jpl.nasa.gov/, http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/asteroidwatch and via Twitter at http://www.twitter.com/asteroidwatch .

Written by

DC Agle
NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Pasadena, CA

Dwayne Brown
NASA Headquarters
Washington, D.C.


Sections

Technology

Topics

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments

You must be logged in to post a comment.


Personal Controls

Archives