88.6 F
Friday, May 20, 2022
HomeNewsTennessee House GOP takes majority

Tennessee House GOP takes majority

Nashville TN: The Tennessee House Republican Caucus made history last night as Republican victories in legislative races across the state gave the caucus the majority of the state House for the first time in nearly 150 years. Leader Jason Mumpower (R-Bristol) stood with leaders and newly elected members on Wednesday to announce the historical wins and introduce the ten new Republican representatives.

“Today is a historic day in the state of Tennessee. Our candidates earned the votes of Tennesseans, and took nothing for granted. We are extremely grateful to the voters of Tennessee for giving us the chance to lead, and we would like to thank all of the hardworking volunteers for their contribution to this historic moment.” ~~  Jason Mumpower

Leader Mumpower introduced the newly elected members:

  • Tony Shipley, District 2
  • Ryan Haynes, District 14
  • Bob Ramsey, District 20
  • Chad Faulkner, District 36
  • Terri Lynn Weaver, District 40
  • Joe Carr, District 48
  • Josh Evans, District 66
  • Vance Dennis, District 71
  • Curtis Halford, District 79
  • Barrett Rich, District 94

“The state faces a difficult year. Republicans remain committed to the small government principles of putting education first, keeping taxes low, and respecting the Second Amendment. We look forward with excitement to this opportunity,” he concluded.


Latest Articles