15 F
Saturday, January 29, 2022
HomeNewsDisaster unemployment assistance filing deadlines near

Disaster unemployment assistance filing deadlines near

If the severe storms and flooding between April 30th and May 18th affected your income, you may be eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance.

You can apply by calling (877) 813-0950 or (615) 253-0800 (in Nashville). Help is available Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 4:00pm.

Filing deadlines are:

  • June 7th, 2010 for Benton, Carroll, Cheatham, Crockett, Davidson, Decatur, Dickson, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardeman, Haywood, Henderson, Hickman, Houston, Humphreys, Madison, Maury, McNairy, Montgomery, Obion, Perry, Rutherford, Shelby, Sumner, Tipton and Williamson counties.
  • June 9th, 2010 for Chester, Clay, DeKalb, Hardin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lewis, Macon, Robertson, Smith, Stewart, Trousdale, Wayne and Wilson counties.
  • June 21st, 2010 for Cannon, Giles and Marshall counties.

You can apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance if, as a direct result of the disaster, you:

  • Became unemployed; or
  • Are unable to reach your place of employment; or
  • Were scheduled to begin work and now do not have the job or are unable to reach the job; or
  • Became the major support of a household because the head of the household died; or
  • Cannot work because of an injury.
  • You must also have exhausted state unemployment eligibility and worked or lived in a designated county.

Benefits are administered by the Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development through a partnership with the Federal Emergency Management Agency. Disaster unemployment can extend for up to 26 weeks from the day the disaster is declared.

Follow the recovery in Tennessee online at http://twitter.com/tema, www.twitter.com/femainfocus, http://www.facebook.com/TNDisasterInfo, www.youtube.com/fema and http://www.flickr.com/photos/t_e_m_a.

The social media links provided are for reference only. FEMA and TEMA do not endorse any non-government websites, companies or applications.

About FEMA 

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at (800)-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call (800)-462-7585.


Latest Articles