72.9 F
Thursday, August 11, 2022
HomeNewsDepartment of Safety and Homeland removes Protestors from Legislative Plaza, Issues Citations

Department of Safety and Homeland removes Protestors from Legislative Plaza, Issues Citations

Protestors asked to leave Legislative Plaza Saturday Morning

Tennessee Department of Safety

Nashville, TN – The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security early Saturday morning enforced a revised state policy that makes the Legislative Plaza, War Memorial Courtyard, and Capitol grounds areas closed to the public from 10:00pm until 6:00am daily.

The revised policy also states there shall be no overnight occupancy of the state properties.

State troopers asked Occupy Nashville protestors to leave the Legislative Plaza around midnight. At 12:10am troopers removed 26 protestors who refused to leave. The protestors were transported to the Davidson County Jail where troopers issued them misdemeanor citations for criminal trespassing (a class C misdemeanor).

Two of the protestors were also charged with public intoxication. One was also charged with criminal impersonation. A total of 72 state troopers were involved in the curfew enforcement.

Names of Protesters Arrested on October 29th, 2011

Autumn R. Dennis, 20, LaVergne, TN

Shanley F. Deignan, 22, Nashville, TN

Laura E. Wallace, Nashville, TN

Jonathan P. Meador, 26, Nashville, TN (Public Intoxication)

Sarah M. Passino, 35, Nashville, TN

Malina M. Shannon, 34, Smyrna, TN

Michael Anger, 30, Lexington, KY

Elizabeth Sharp, 20, Murfreesboro, TN

Shannon D. Brown, 39, Lebanon, TN

Lindsay K. White, 24, Nashville, TN

Paula E. Painter, 55, Cumberland City, TN

Diane L. Wilde, 64, Lebanon, TN

William S. Woods, 64, Columbia, TN

Chris G. Corley, 52, Lebanon, TN (Criminal Impersonation, Public Intoxication)

Tyler A. Lawson, 25, Mt. Juliet, TN

Sarah E. Matlock, 26, Antioch, TN

Jeremiah M. Carter, 19, Bellevue, TN

Joshua D. Estes, 28, Hermitage, TN

Brett N. Flener, 21, Glasgow, KY

Lauren M. Plummer, 24, Nashville, TN

Scott D. Akers, 42, Madison, TN

Michelle F. Muldoon, 23, Nashville, TN

Mark A. Vanzant, 22, Murfreesboro, TN

Benjamin S. Warner, 34, Nashville, TN

Stevens Anthony Taylor, 18, Nashville, TN

Benjamin C. Spencer, 22, Old Hickory, TN

About the Tennessee Department of Safety

The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security’s (www.TN.Gov/safety) mission is to ensure the safety and general welfare of the public.  The department encompasses the Tennessee Highway Patrol, Office of Homeland Security and Driver License Services. General areas of responsibility include law enforcement, safety education, motorist services and terrorism prevention.


Latest Articles