Clarksville, TN Online: News, Opinion, Arts & Entertainment.

Austin Peay State University Center of Excellence seeking 2012 Ovation Award nominees


Clarksville, TN – The Austin Peay State University Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts is looking for nominees from the Clarksville-Montgomery County community to receive this year’s coveted Ovation Awards.

Since 1996, the Center has honored individuals who made significant contributions to the artistic and cultural life of the Clarksville community.

The five award categories include:

Artist: A living Tennessee artist active in the field of literature, visual arts, performing arts, music, folk arts, architecture or design, who lives or lived in Montgomery County.

Community: A Clarksville-Montgomery County community organization or institution for an outstanding arts-based community program or project. Schools and the school district are not eligible in this category.

Business: A business or corporation that has made a significant contribution to support arts and culture in Montgomery County. Government agencies are not eligible.

Young Artist: A high school student within the Clarksville-Montgomery County School System who has shown exceptional gifts through student or community performances, exhibitions or publications.

The George Mabry Award: A living Tennessee individual who has made a significant impact on arts and culture in Montgomery County through philanthropy, leadership or direct involvement or a Tennessee individual who has advanced arts and culture through strategic and innovative work in creating or supporting public policy beneficial to the arts in Montgomery County. (Nominations are not accepted in this category. The honoree is selected by a special committee of the Acuff Circle of Excellence Community Advisory Board.)

The winners will be announced at the Ovation Awards ceremony in the spring, and Christopher Burawa, director of the Center of Excellence, said they are currently accepting nominations for the four categories, other than the George Mabry Award.

The nominations must be received in his office by 5:00pm, February 10th, 2012.

In order to nominate someone in one of the categories, you must submit a nomination letter, which should not exceed two double-spaced pages. The nomination should include no more than three letters of support and a short biography of the individual or history of the organization.

Last year, the Ovation Award for an individual artist was presented to Susan Bryant, professor of art at APSU. Empty Bowls Clarksville received the Ovation Award for community organization or program and Silke’s Old World Breads received the Ovation Award for business or corporation.

The George Mabry Award was presented last March to Anne Glass, a talented musician who has been a significant contributor to the Clarksville arts community since 1962.

For more information on the nomination process and the Ovation Awards, contact the Center at 931.221.7876.




, , , , , , , , , , , ,


You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On YoutubeCheck Our FeedVisit Us On Instagram
  • Personal Controls