59.5 F
Saturday, April 1, 2023
HomeEventsEighth Annual Clarksville Writers Conference is June 7th and 8th with Pulitzer...

Eighth Annual Clarksville Writers Conference is June 7th and 8th with Pulitzer Prize Winner Alex S. Jones as Keynote Speaker

Clarksville Writer's ConferenceClarksville, TN – The Clarksville Arts and Heritage Development Council is pleased to announce the Eighth Annual Clarksville Writers Conference, being held June 7th and 8th, 2012, on the campus of Austin Peay State University.

We are very honored to have as this year’s keynote speaker Alex S. Jones, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist, author of Losing the News: The Future of the News that Feeds Democracy, and co-author of The Patriarch: The Rise and Fall of the Bingham Dynasty with Susan E. Tifft.

Jones, who is currently the director of the Joan Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard’s John F. Kennedy School of Government, will speak at the conference banquet at the Clarksville Country Club on the evening of Thursday, June 7th.

The conference banquet will be encompassed by two days of interesting and valuable presentations and workshops on Thursday and Friday, June 7th and 8th.

Authors scheduled to speak include:

Amanda Auchter, poet, founding editor of Pebble Lake Review and author of The Glass Crib;

Tracy Barrett, young-adult writer and author of the award-winning Anna of Byzantium, King of Ithaka and Dark of the Moon;

Marshall Chapman, critically-acclaimed musician, songwriter and author of Goodbye, Little Rock and Roller and They Came to Nashville;

Peggy DeKay, authority on self-publishing and author of Self-Publishing for Virgins;

Keven McQueen, author of true crime and mystery novels including Murder in Old Kentucky and The Axman Came From Hell and Other Southern True Crime Stories;

Sena Jeter Naslund, New York Times bestselling author of Adam & Eve, Abundance: A Novel of Marie Antoinette and Ahab’s Wife;

A. Scott Pearson, Vanderbilt University surgeon and author of the medical thrillers Rupture and Public Anatomy;

Alice Randall, author of The Wind Done Gone, Pushkin and the Queen of Spades, Rebel Yell and the forthcoming Ada’s Rules;

Chuck Sambuchino, editor of Writer’s Digest’s Guide to Literary Agents and author of How to Survive a Garden Gnome Attack;

Frederick Smock, poet and author of Blue Hour, Sonnets and Deer at Gethsemani: Eclogues;

Marianne Walker, author of the book Margaret Mitchell and John Marsh: The Love Story Behind Gone with the Wind.

In addition to the scheduled presentations and workshops, free consultations with two literary agents will be available to conference participants:

Debbie Carter, literary agent with Muse Literary Management in New York City;

Barbara Scott, literary agent with WordServe Literary Group in Colorado.

A complete package including all conference activities is offered, as well as a la carte options. Discounted rates are available for early registration, which is postmarked on or before May 24th, 2012. (Late registration is postmarked between May 25th and May 31st, 2012.)  Visit the conference website at www.artsandheritage.us/writers for author bios, the conference schedule, registration information and more.

The 2012 Clarksville Writers Conference is made possible in part through the generous support of the City of Clarksville, Austin Peay State University, Dr. Howard and Patricia Winn, Judge Sam and Dee Boaz, Gannett Foundation / The Leaf-Chronicle, APSU Office of President Tim Hall, Ideal Distributing, and the Customs House Museum and Cultural Center.

Additional sponsors include the Fort Campbell Officers’ Spouses’ Club, Jim B. Marshall, Drs. David and Jennie Beth Johnston, Dr. Richard and Meredith Gildrie, and Alex and Sarah Darnell.  The conference was developed in 2005 by Patricia Winn, who has chaired the event since its inception.


Latest Articles