85.4 F
Sunday, August 14, 2022
HomeNewsClarksville Mayor Kim McMillan announces Design Review Task Force Members

Clarksville Mayor Kim McMillan announces Design Review Task Force Members

City of ClarksvilleClarksville, TN – Clarksville Mayor Kim McMillan will host the first organizational meeting of the newly appointed Design Review Task Force on February 5th, 2013 at 3:00pm.

The public meeting will take place in the City Hall Conference Room on the fourth floor of City Hall. The Task Force’s goal is to review Clarksville’s design review committee structure and present recommendations to simplify and streamline the design approval process.

“Currently, there are multiple stakeholder committees who evaluate specific areas of Clarksville or specific kinds of development,” said Mayor McMillan. “It just makes sense to combine these efforts so that development across the City is efficient and consistent. I also believe it’s important to have participation from each of the organizations who have been involved in the process as well as the Regional Planning Commission.”

The Mayor has appointed the following people to the Task Force

  • RPC Director: David Ripple – Chair
  • B&C Director: Mike Baker
  • Architect Representative: Sally Castleman
  • Engineer Representative: David Smith
  • Landscape Architect Representative: Laura Schroeder
  • Commercial Builder Representative: Fulton Wilson
  • Commercial Sign Contractor Representative: Scott Harrison
  • Electrician/Lighting Contractor Representative: Dennis Pitts
  • TRC Chairman: Chris Goodman
  • CBID Representative: Charles Foust
  • Madison Street Corridor Representative: Marsha Williams
  • Historic Zoning Representative: Doug Jones
  • Residential Real Estate Representative: Syd Hedrick
  • Commercial Real Estate Representative: Wayne Wilkinson
  • At Large: Mark Holleman

All of the City Council members will serve as non-voting Ex Officio members of the Task Force. Dr. Ripple will serve as Chair of the Task Force.

“This is going to be a big undertaking and I sincerely appreciate everyone who has agreed to serve on the Task Force,” Mayor McMillan said. “Dr. Ripple, Director of the Clarksville-Montgomery County Regional Planning Commission, has suggested that it could take as long as six months to get a handle on all of the issues involved.”

“It’s clear that Clarksville has grown so much that the current structure just doesn’t work efficiently to further the progress we can, and need, to make,” stated Mayor McMillan. “This Task Force will to look at practical ways we can move forward to encourage, rather than hinder, development in all areas of Clarksville.”


Latest Articles