83.7 F
Saturday, June 25, 2022
HomeArts/LeisureThe Roys Bring the Holidays Home with "Bluegrass Kinda Christmas"

The Roys Bring the Holidays Home with “Bluegrass Kinda Christmas”

The RoysNashville, TNTHE ROYS bring the holidays home with their newest CD, “Bluegrass Kinda Christmas” (Rural Rhythm Records), available now to radio programmers via AirPlay Direct, and to fans by pre-order at Walmart, Amazon and iTunes.

The disc will be in stores November 18th.  THE ROYS’ much-heralded sibling harmonies, spot-on lead vocals and agile musicianship shine a light on Christmas songs both new and old, creating a festive holiday ambience that’s apropos for any seasonal celebration.

"Bluegrass Kinda Christmas" by The Roys.
“Bluegrass Kinda Christmas” by The Roys.

Recorded during a hot Tennessee summer, “Bluegrass Kinda Christmas” features Elaine Roy (Guitar), Lee Roy (Mandolin, Mandocello, Mandola), Clint White (Fiddle), Daniel Patrick (Banjo, Dobro), Erik Alvar (Bass), and Josh Swift (Dobro*), and was recorded at THE ROYS’ own studio in Hendersonville, TN.

“My memories of Christmas are so vivid,” observes Elaine.  “But most importantly, I think, was the complete sense of being loved that I felt at those family gatherings.”  For her brother Lee, the holidays were a time filled with music, family and fun – and this album presents those emotions as well.  “The title track is actually the first Christmas song Elaine and I’ve written,” he notes.  “We wrote it with our buddy Steve Dean, and it’s full of the energy and excitement I remember from being a kid.”

The 10-song collection hums with a warm and companionable feel that sets the stage for lively fiddle runs and the bell-like sounds of the mandolin. Crisp, clear notes resonate throughout, sparkling like the sun on snow.

Each track is compelling, but Elaine’s angelic vocal on “O Holy Night” is a standout: soft as candlelight, she brings an instant sense of peace – and images of Holy places to mind.  Lee’s stirring interpretation of “There’s A New Kid In Town” (Curly Putnam/Keith Whitley/Don Cook) is another highlight; filled with mature gravitas and nuance.

The pair never shies away from fun and they excel on the upbeat classics “Santa Looked Like A Lot Like Daddy” (Buck Owens/Don Rich) and “Christmas Times A Comin’ ” (Tex Logan).

The busy Bluegrassers are already feeling the spirit of the season; on November 24th, they’ll make their first appearance at Country icon Charlie Daniels’ annual Christmas 4 Kids benefit concert at the historic Ryman Auditorium. They’ll wrap the 2014 touring season – appropriately – with a performance at the Christmas In The Smokies concert in Pigeon Forge, TN on December 13th.

“Bluegrass Kinda Christmas”  Track Listing:

1.      Santa Looked A Lot Like Daddy

2.      Santa Train

3.      With Bells On

4.      If We Make It Through December

5.      Christmas Times A Comin’

6.      Bluegrass Kinda Christmas

7.      There’s A New Kid In Town *

8.      Winter Wonderland

9.      O Holy Night

10.    Santa And The Kids


Latest Articles