73.7 F
Thursday, May 26, 2022
HomeSports2016, 2017 OVC Softball Championship to be held at Choccolocco Park

2016, 2017 OVC Softball Championship to be held at Choccolocco Park

Ohio Valley Conference - OVCBrentwood, TN – The Ohio Valley Conference Board of Athletic Directors and Board of Presidents have approved a plan to move the OVC Softball Championship to the neutral site of Oxford, AL, for the next two years beginning with the 2016 season. The eight-team double-elimination tournament will be held May 11th-14th at Choccolocco Park.

“We are delighted to host our softball championship at a first-class venue and are grateful for the support of the city leaders of Oxford,” said OVC Commissioner Beth DeBauche.

2016 OVC Softball Championship

The 2016 season marks the 23rd year the OVC Softball Championship has been held. It is the first year the tournament has been held at a neutral site.

The previous 22 seasons, the league’s tournament has been held on the campus site of the No. 1 seed.

The OVC Softball Championship will be the first event held at the recently completed Choccolocco Park. More information on the park can be found www.choccoloccopark.com

The OVC currently has 12 softball-playing institutions including Austin Peay State University, Belmont University, Eastern Illinois University, Eastern Kentucky University, Jacksonville State University, Morehead State University, Murray State University, Southeast Missouri State University, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, Tennessee Technological University and the University of Tennessee at Martin.


Latest Articles