74.4 F
Saturday, May 21, 2022
HomeSportsAPSU's Alex Robles placed on 2016 John Olerud Two-Way Player of the...

APSU’s Alex Robles placed on 2016 John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Watch List

APSU Sports Information

APSU Baseball - Austin Peay State UniversityLubbock, TX – Junior Alex Robles, of the Austin Peay State University baseball team, has been named one of 24 collegiate players on the 2016 John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Watch List.

Robles, of Tucson, Arizona, landed on the Ohio Valley Conference Preseason All-OVC First Team as both a starting pitcher and utility player, and has lived up to the billing in 2016.

APSU Baseball's Alex Robles

In 35 games this season, Robles has served as the Govs ace, posting a 6-3 record, 4.14 ERA and 49 strikeouts as the Friday night starter.

In addition to his pitching accomplishments, Robles is currently batting at a .328 clip with three home runs and 29 RBI, primarily in the designated hitter role. Defensively, the junior has seen time at third base, including two starts, with no errors committed at the hot corner.

It is the second consecutive year Robles has made the prestigious watch list. Last season, Robles became a finalist – one of 10 players – as the watch list voting was narrowed.

The award is named for the former Washington State University standout who achieved success both as a first baseman and left-handed pitcher during the late 1980s and who was inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2007. The award will be presented as part of the Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions celebration July 1-2 in Lubbock.

For more information on the Olerud Award or the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions, visit www.collegebaseballhall.org

2016 John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Watch List

Brandon Gold, Georgia Tech, ACC
Brendan McKay, Louisville, ACC
Kevin Doherty, Virginia, ACC
Adam Haseley, Virginia, ACC
Will Craig, Wake Forest, ACC
Thad Johnson, St. Bonaventure, Atlantic 10
Corbin Olmstead, North Florida, Atlantic Sun
Carmen Benedetti, Michigan, Big 10
Matt Fiedler, Minnesota, Big 10
Sheldon Neuse, Oklahoma, Big 12
Luken Baker, TCU, Big 12
Daniel Brumbaugh, Richmond, Colonial Athletic
Dane Myers, Rice, Conference USA
Trenton Brooks, Nevada, Mountain West
Andrew Hinckley, Central Conn., State Northeast
Ryan Brennan, Fairleigh-Dickinson, Northeast
Alex Robles, Austin Peay, Ohio Valley
Bobby Dalbec, Arizona, Pac-12
Danny Rafferty, Bucknell, Patriot
Brian Sharp, Missouri, SEC
Ryan Cate, Nebraska-Omaha, Summit
Anthony Herrera, Louisiana-Monroe, Sun Belt
Sean Watkins, Loyola-Marymount, West Coast
Anthony Gonsolin, St. Mary’s (Calif.), West Coast


Latest Articles