Clarksville, TN Online: News, Opinion, Arts & Entertainment.

Topic: TN General Assembly

Senate Dems elect new leadership


Sen. Jim Kyle

Kyle, Heron to head caucus

NASHVILLE — Senator Jim Kyle, D-Memphis, and Sen. Roy Herron, D-Dresden, have been elected by members of the Tennessee Senate Democratic Caucus to serve as minority leader and caucus chairman respectively for the 106th General Assembly. Leadership elections were held during a caucus meeting in Nashville last night.

Also, Sen. Doug Jackson, D-Dickson, was re-elected as vice chairman and Sen. Andy Berke, D-Chattanooga, was chosen as secretary/treasurer. All elections were by acclamation.

Kyle said that Senate Democrats look forward to tackling the many challenges facing the General Assembly during the upcoming session. «Read the rest of this article»

Sections: News, Politics | No Comments

  • Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On YoutubeCheck Our FeedVisit Us On Instagram
  • Personal Controls