57.6 F
Friday, December 9, 2022
HomeTech/ScienceFormer APSU Governor Greg Franklin earns women's NJCAA Division I Coach of...

Former APSU Governor Greg Franklin earns women’s NJCAA Division I Coach of the Year

Austin Peay Sports Information

Austin Peay State University Sports - APSU - Governors - Lady GovsColorado, Springs, CO – Former Austin Peay State University basketball standout Greg Franklin, who led Chipola College to the National Junior College Athletic Association Division I women’s title this spring, has been named NJCAA Division I Coach of the Year.

Franklin guided Chipola to a 34-1 record in 2014-15, leading the program to its first national championship. He coached two-time All-America forward Evelyn Akhator, who also was the Spalding® NJCAA DI Women’s Basketball Player of the Year, along with second-team All-America guard sophomore guard Sueterrica Key.

Former Austin Peay Gov Franklin earns top juco women's coaching honor.
Former Austin Peay Gov Franklin earns top juco women’s coaching honor.

Franklin owns a 96-11 record in his four seasons at Chipola. He also coached from 2002-07 at Southeastern Illinois College. He owns a 250-36 at the junior college level. In between his two junior college stints, he spent five seasons as a Mississippi State assistant.

Franklin, who played guard for the Govs from 1989-93, scored 1,312 points during his four seasons. The Central City, KY., native was second-team All-Ohio Valley Conference in 1991-92 after being named to the league’s all-freshman team in 1989-90.


Latest Articles