71.1 F
Monday, June 27, 2022
HomeSportsAPSU Governors Tennis loses to Eastern Kentucky Colonels in OVC Tournament final

APSU Governors Tennis loses to Eastern Kentucky Colonels in OVC Tournament final

Austin Peay Sports Information

Austin Peay State University Governors - APSUNashville, TN – Despite displaying a never say die attitude, Austin Peay State University men’s tennis team was eliminated in the finals of the Ohio Valley Conference Championship as the Govs fell to the No. 1 seed Eastern Kentucky 4-2, Sunday, at Centennial SportsPlex.

Austin Peay Men's Tennis. (APSU Sports Information)
Austin Peay Men’s Tennis. (APSU Sports Information)

With the loss, the third-seeded Govs fall to 14-8 overall while EKU improves to 18-7 for the season. With the win, EKU has claimed the OVC’s automatic bid to the NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Tournament.

In doubles action, the pairing of freshman Aleh Drobysh and sophomore Manuel Montenegro dropped an 8-4 decision at the No. 3 position. The Colonels then clinched the doubles point when the pairing of seniors Aleksas Tverijonas and sophomore Aaron Jumonville lost an 8-2 match at the No. 2 slot.

In singles play, Austin Peay was led by Tverijonas, who earned a 6-3, 6-0 win against Daridge Saidi at the No. 2 position and Ristovski, who picked up a 6-4, 6-3 victory over Alex Avaro at the No. 1 slot. Unfortunately, the Colonels were able to claim the match victory as they picked up wins at No. 3, No. 4 and No. 6 singles.


Ross Brown and the Govs fought hard but could not overcome Eastern Kentucky in the OVC Tournament Championship final.

Box Score

Singles                                                  –

No. 1 – Dimitar Ristovski (APSU) def. Alex Alvaro (EKU) 6-4, 6-3

No. 2 – Aleksas Tverijonas (APSU) def. Ramon van Flymen (EKU) 6-3, 6-0

No. 3 – Daridge Saidi (EKU) def. Aaron Jumonville (APSU) 5-7, 6-3, 6-4

No. 4 – Sebas Mueller (EKU) def. Iago Seffrin (APSU) 4-6, 7-6 (9), 5-1, retired

No. 5 – Manuel Montenegro (APSU) vs. Diogo Soares (EKU) 4-6, 2-3, unfinished

No. 6. –Juanjo de la Llera (EKU) def. Aleh Drobysh (APSU) 6-3, 6-2


No. 1 – Seffrin/Ristovski (APSU) vs. Mueller/de la Llera (EKU) 4-7, unfinished

No. 2 –Alvaro/Asis (EKU) def. Jumonville/Tverijonas (APSU) 8-2

No. 3 – van Flymen/Soares (EKU) def. Drobysh/Montenegro (APSU) 8-4

Order of Finish: Doubles (2, 3*); Singles: (2, 1, 3, 4, 6*)


Latest Articles