52.9 F
Monday, March 20, 2023
HomeEvents11th Annual Clarksville Writers Conference to be held June 4th and 5th

11th Annual Clarksville Writers Conference to be held June 4th and 5th

Clarksville Writers ConferenceClarksville, TN – The Clarksville Arts and Heritage Development Council, in partnership with Austin Peay State University and the Tennessee Arts Commission, is pleased to announce the Eleventh Annual Clarksville Writers Conference, being held June 4th and 5th, 2015, on the campus of Austin Peay State University.

We are very honored to have as this year’s keynote speaker Sharyn McCrumb, award-winning Southern writer best known for her Appalachian “Ballad” novels, including the New York Times bestsellers The Ballad of Tom Dooley and She Walks These Hills, and the forthcoming Prayers the Devil Answers.

Sharyn McCrumb to keynote 11th Annual Clarksville Writers Conference.
Sharyn McCrumb to keynote 11th Annual Clarksville Writers Conference.

McCrumb will speak at Thursday evening’s banquet at Club Level of Austin Peay State University’s newly renovated Governors Stadium, featuring a gorgeous view of this historic campus.

The conference banquet will be encompassed by two days of interesting presentations and valuable workshops on Thursday and Friday, June 4th and 5th, on the campus of Austin Peay State University.

Authors scheduled to speak include:

E.W. Brooks, author of the breakout series Mafietta and owner of publishing company E.W. Brooks Books;

Nick Allen Brown, fiction writer and author of novels Field of Dead Horses and The Astronaut from Bear Creek;

Steven Cox, editor of Once I Too Had Wings, a selection of personal journal entries by early 20th century Appalachian writer and artist, Emma Bell Miles;

Rod Davis, award-winning novelist and author of South, America, Corina’s Way and American Voudou: Journey into a Hidden World;

Amy Greene, author of New York Times bestselling novel Bloodroot and the critically acclaimed follow-up Long Man;

Stuart Horwitz, founder and principal of New England-based independent editing firm Book Architecture and author of Blueprint Your Bestseller and Book Architecture;

Ellen Kanervo, conference chair and project leader of C is for Clarksville on the Cumberland, an art and alphabet book about the city;

Barry Kitterman, fiction editor of Zone 3 Magazine and author of novel The Baker’s Boy and short story collection From the San Joaquin;

Bob Mayer, author of science fiction series Atlantis and Area 51 and thrillers The Green Beret Series and The Presidential Series and founder of publishing company Cool Gus;

Carol Ponder and Robert Kiefer, award-winning theatre and music professionals whose My Father’s War: A Story of War, Survival and Grace combines memoir, music and spoken word into a reader’s theatre performance;

Margaret Prim, executive director of the Pennyroyal Arts Council and project leader of H is for Hopkinsville, an art and alphabet book about the city;

Karen Skolfield, poet and author of Frost in the Low Areas, winner of the 2014 PEN New England Award in poetry and the First Book Award from Zone 3 Press;

Eleanor Williams, Montgomery County Historian and author of local history books Homes and Happenings, Cabins to Castles and Worship along the Warioto.

In addition to the scheduled presentations and workshops, free manuscript consultations with Ken Sherman, literary agent with Los Angeles-based Ken Sherman & Associates, are available to conference participants:

A complete package including all conference activities is offered, as well as a la carte options. Discounted rates are available for early registration, which is postmarked on or before May 21st, 2015. (Late registration is postmarked between May 22nd and May 28th, 2015.) Visit the conference website at www.artsandheritage.us/writers for author bios, the conference schedule, registration information and more.

The 2015 Clarksville Writers Conference is made possible in part through the generous support of the Clarksville Arts & Heritage Development Council, Austin Peay State University, Tennessee Arts Commission, City of Clarksville, Gannett Foundation / The Leaf-Chronicle, Dr. Howard & Patricia Winn, APSU Office of Academic Affairs, Middle Tennessee Tourism Council, Fort Campbell Officers’ Spouses’ Club, and the Customs House Museum and Cultural Center.

Additional sponsors include Dave and Jennie Beth Johnston, Dee Boaz, Ned and Jacqueline Crouch, Joan and Durward Harris, Rafael Prieto and Jacquelyn Branham, Jim and Dottie Mann, and Sue Culverhouse. The conference was developed in 2005 by Patricia Winn.


Latest Articles