82.4 F
Thursday, September 16, 2021
HomeEducationAPSU Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts seeks Nominations for 2018...

APSU Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts seeks Nominations for 2018 Ovation Awards

CECA Advisory BoardClarksville, TN – Nominations are being sought for the 2018 Ovation Awards, presented by the advisory board of the APSU Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts (CECA).

Nominations are open to the public, and nominations will be accepted through Thursday, February 8th, 2018.

2018 Ovation Awards set for Sunday, April 8th.
2018 Ovation Awards set for Sunday, April 8th.

The 2018 Ovation Awards take place on Sunday, April 8th, at the George and Sharon Mabry Concert Hall at 2:00pm. This year, the awards will be a showcase-style event featuring collaborative performances from both APSU and community arts groups.

Founded in 1996, the Ovation Awards recognize an individual or group’s dedication to building and sustaining arts and culture in Montgomery County through active participation in the arts and/or support of the arts. Nominees must have made significant contributions to the artistic and cultural life of the Clarksville-Montgomery County community.

The award categories in which nominations are sought are:

  • Individual Artist: A living Tennessee artist, active in the field of literature, visual arts, performing arts, music, folk arts, architecture or design, who lives or has lived in Montgomery County.
  • Community: A Clarksville-Montgomery County community organization or institution with an outstanding arts-based community program or project. Schools and the school district are not eligible in this category.
  • Business: A business or corporation that has made a significant contribution to support arts and culture in Montgomery County. Government agencies are not eligible in this category.
  • Young Artist: A high school junior or senior in Clarksville-Montgomery County who has shown exceptional dedication, skill and talent in the arts through student or community performances, exhibitions or publications. Category awards are visual arts, dance performance, theatre performance, instrumental music, vocal performance and creative writing. Finalists in each category will receive a $25.00 cash prize and winners will receive a $50.00 cash prize. Winners in each category will also be strongly considered when applying for one of two annual $1,000 endowed arts scholarships at APSU, established by the CECA Advisory Board.

The Ovation Awards also include The George Mabry Award, with nominees for this honor coming from the CECA advisory board.

The Mabry Award recognizes a living Tennessean who has made a significant impact on arts and culture in Montgomery County through philanthropy, leadership or direct involvement or a Tennessee individual who has advanced arts and culture through innovative work in creating or supporting the arts in Montgomery County.

Past winners include Evans Harvill, Frank Lott, Anne Glass, Olen Bryant, David Alford, Joseph B. Trahern Jr., Joe Giles and Wade Bourne.

To make a nomination online or to download a printable nomination form, visit www.apsu.edu/ceca/ovation

For more information on the nomination process or the Ovation Awards, contact CECA at 931.221.7876.


Latest Articles