Clarksville, TN Online: News, Opinion, Arts & Entertainment.

APSU’s Dannelle Whiteside named Tennessee Innovation and Leadership fellow


Austin Peay State University - APSUClarksville, TN – Austin Peay State University (APSU) vice president for legal affairs Dannelle Whiteside has been named to the inaugural cohort of the Tennessee Higher Education Leadership and Innovation Fellows program.

Austin Peay State University vice president for legal affairs Dannelle Whiteside. (APSU)

Austin Peay State University vice president for legal affairs Dannelle Whiteside. (APSU)

The program is designed to develop the next generation of enterprise leaders in higher education, according to the Tennessee Higher Education Commission (THEC).

As a member of the first cohort, Whiteside will meet with other fellows on campuses across the state to learn from experts and build extended networks. According to THEC, “the program will facilitate individual development goals through professional assessments, one-on-one executive coaching and mentoring networks and job shadowing experiences.”

Program objectives include develop leadership through self-exploration and training; provide a foundation of higher education policy and practice; inspire ideas and new ways of thinking “to shape the emerging paradigm of post-secondary education” and cultivate statewide networks of collaboration and innovation.

“Addressing the challenges currently facing higher education will require leaders that are steeped in innovation and keenly focused on student success,” THEC Executive Director Mike Krause said. “This program will help Tennessee develop a cohort of higher education professionals ready to excel in executive positions.”

Other fellows in Whiteside’s cohort are:

  • Dr. Richard Bloomer, dean, School of Health Studies, University of Memphis.
  • Dr. Lori Bruce, provost and vice president for academic affairs, Tennessee Technological University.
  • Dr. David Butler, vice provost for research, dean, College of Graduate Studies, Middle Tennessee State University.
  • Kelli Chaney, president, TCAT Knoxville.
  • Susanne Cox, vice president, TCAT Morristown.
  • Bo Drake, vice president of economic and workforce development, Chattanooga State Community College.
  • Dr. Steven Gentile, chief fiscal policy officer, THEC.
  • Dr. Michael Hoff, chief planning officer, East Tennessee State University.
  • Theresa Liedtka, Dean, UTC Library, University of Tennessee, Chattanooga.
  • Connie Marshall, interim vice president for academic affairs, Northeast State Community College.
  • David L. Miller, chief financial officer, University of Tennessee.
  • Laura Monks, president, TCAT Shelbyville.
  • Ms. Linda Spears, chief human resources officer, Tennessee State University.
  • Jacqueline Taylor, associate vice president, Retention and Student Success, Southwest Tennessee Community College.




, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On YoutubeCheck Our FeedVisit Us On Instagram
  • Personal Controls