64.3 F
Saturday, December 9, 2023
HomePoliticsTennessee Senate Republicans elect leadership for 108th General Assembly

Tennessee Senate Republicans elect leadership for 108th General Assembly

Lt. Gov. Ramsey, Leader Norris and Chairman Ketron Re-elected; Senator Mark Green elected Caucus Chaplain

Tennessee Senate Republican CaucusNashville, TN – Tennessee Senate Republicans met Wednesday, December 12th in Nashville to elect leaders for the 108th General Assembly where they voted unanimously to nominate Lt. Governor Ron Ramsey (R-Blountville) to retain his top leadership post as Lt. Governor and Senate Speaker.

The Senate Republican Caucus also voted to re-elect Senator Mark Norris (R-Collierville) for a 4th term as Senate Majority Leader and chose Senator Bill Ketron (R-Murfreesboro) for a 2nd term as Republican Caucus Chairman.

The State Senate’s organizational session is set to begin on January 8th. Election of the Lt. Governor is the first order of business after State Senators take the oath of office. Senate Republicans now number 26 of the 33 members of the Tennessee Senate after gaining 6 new seats in the November election.

“It has been the honor of my life to serve as Tennessee’s lieutenant governor,” Lt. Governor Ramsey said.  “I am truly humbled to once again be the nominee of my party for Speaker of the Senate. We have welcomed some great new members to our caucus today and elected a fantastic leadership team. I look forward to getting to work this session continuing to bring Tennesseans what they have asked for:  more jobs, less spending and smaller government.”

“I appreciate the confidence of my colleagues and look forward to continuing on the conservative course our constituents deserve,” Leader Norris added.

“I appreciate the opportunity to serve again as Senate Republican Caucus Chairman,” said Chairman Ketron “This is a united team that will work together to encourage private sector job growth, strengthen education, follow sound fiscal budget practices and that will address many other concerns facing Tennesseans.”

Other Caucus members elected to leadership positions were Senator Ferrell Haile (R-Gallatin) as Treasurer, Senator Becky Massey (R-Knoxville) as Secretary, Speaker Pro Tempore Bo Watson (R-Hixson) as Majority Whip and Senator Mark Green (R-Clarksville) as Caucus Chaplain.


Latest Articles