- Clarksville, TN Online - https://www.clarksvilleonline.com -

Clarksville, TN Online: News, Opinion, Arts & Entertainment.

Austin Peay State University recognizes outstanding professors with 2019 Faculty Awards

Posted By Clarksville Online News Staff On Monday, August 19, 2019 @ 2:30 pm In Education | No Comments

Austin Peay State University - APSUClarksville, TN – On August 14th, 2019, Austin Peay State University (APSU) President Alisa White honored several outstanding faculty members during an awards ceremony in the Mabry Concert Hall.

Austin Peay President Alisa White, Joe Shakeenab, Gilbert Pitts and Rex Gandy. (APSU)

Austin Peay President Alisa White, Joe Shakeenab, Gilbert Pitts and Rex Gandy. (APSU)

The University’s top faculty honor, the APSU National Alumni Association Distinguished Professor Award, was presented to Dr. Gilbert Pitts, professor of biology.

During his career at Austin Peay, Pitts has worked closely with several undergraduate and graduate students, resulting in 18 scientific presentations. He served as president of the Tennessee Academy of Science and as a member of several committees for the Human Anatomy and Physiology Society.

Pitts also has earned 15 grants totaling more than $740,000 to purchase equipment for his biology students.

On Wednesday, the University presented three tenure-track faculty members with the Socrates Award for Excellence in Teaching, which recognizes professors who are known around campus for their ability to inspire and motivate students. This year’s recipients were McLean Fahnestock, assistant professor of art and design; Dr. Mollie Cashner, associate professor of biology; and Dr. Kathryn Woods, associate professor of leadership and organizational administration.

Austin Peay President Alisa White, Dwayne Estes and Rex Gandy. (APSU)

Austin Peay President Alisa White, Dwayne Estes and Rex Gandy. (APSU)

The University’s Richard M. Hawkins Award, presented each year to a faculty member who has demonstrated exceptional scholarly and creative behavior, was presented to Dr. Dwayne Estes, professor of biology.

In 2017, he launched the Southeastern Grasslands Initiative at Austin Peay, and through that organization he has successfully developed a plan involving state, federal and private entities to fund research and preservation of native grasslands. As a result of his efforts, the Tennessee Wildlife Federation awarded him its coveted “Conservationist of the Year” award. 

Each year, the Distinguished Community Service Award recognizes a full-time faculty member whose service has enhanced or will enhance the quality of life in the Clarksville-Montgomery County area. Dr. Jill Eichhorn, associate professor of English and coordinator of the Women’s and Gender Studies Program, received this year’s honor.

Austin Peay President Alisa White, Jill Eichhorn and Rex Gandy. (APSU)

Austin Peay President Alisa White, Jill Eichhorn and Rex Gandy. (APSU)

Over the years, Eichhorn has shown outstanding leadership in raising awareness about issues of violence against women and sexual and gender-based abuse in this community. She has coordinated the Clothesline Project since 1996 to address the issue of violence against women.

Eichhorn also has coordinated performances of the Vagina Monologues for 18 years, raising more than $20,000 for organizations such as Clarksville’s Sexual Assault Center, the Legal Aid Society of Middle Tennessee and the Urban Ministries Safehouse.

For more information on these awards, contact the APSU Office of Academic Affairs at [2].

Article printed from Clarksville, TN Online: https://www.clarksvilleonline.com

URL to article: https://www.clarksvilleonline.com/2019/08/19/austin-peay-state-university-recognizes-outstanding-professors-with-2019-faculty-awards/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://www.clarksvilleonline.com/cols/www/delivery/ck.php?n=aa8e5b9a&cb=504963389

[2] : mailto:

[3] Facebook: https://www.clarksvilleonline.com/2019/08/19/austin-peay-state-university-recognizes-outstanding-professors-with-2019-faculty-awards/?share=facebook

[4] Twitter: https://www.clarksvilleonline.com/2019/08/19/austin-peay-state-university-recognizes-outstanding-professors-with-2019-faculty-awards/?share=twitter

[5] Pinterest: https://www.clarksvilleonline.com/2019/08/19/austin-peay-state-university-recognizes-outstanding-professors-with-2019-faculty-awards/?share=pinterest

© 2015 Clarksville Online