54.8 F
Saturday, January 28, 2023
HomeSportsOver 250 compete in annual APSU Governors Golf Classic

Over 250 compete in annual APSU Governors Golf Classic

APSU Sports Information

Austin Peay State University Sports - APSU Clarksville, TN – The annual APSU Governors Golf Classic had more than 250 area golfers flocked to Clarksville Country Club, Swan Lake Golf Course and the Links at Novadell on Friday.

For the second year in a row, three courses were needed for the four-man scramble that raises scholarship money for Austin Peay student-athletes. Afterward, participants were treated to a dinner, silent auction and music from local artist Mike Robinson at the Country Club.

At the Country Club—packed to capacity with 36 teams—the foursome of Jeff Truitt, Groovy Truitt, Jim Durrett and Mark Blaze scored a two-shot victory (47) over Michael Rye’s foursome (49). The Hal Matthews-Dennis Kolb-Doyle Robertson-Tyler Guy quartet (50) finished third.

Team Jeff Truitt, Groovy Truitt, Mark Blaze and Jim Durrett win Austin Peay Governors Golf Classic. (APSU)
Team Jeff Truitt, Groovy Truitt, Mark Blaze and Jim Durrett win Austin Peay Governors Golf Classic. (APSU)

In the ladies’ bracket at CCC it was Donna Ruggles, Karen Richards, Tonya Wells and Lynn Osborn taking the crown with a 55, followed by 58’s from Martha Choat-Cynthia Dahlgren-Angela West-Vickie Stanfill and Beth Ann Brasher-Ashley Averitt-Lindsey Pippins-Radcliff and Monica Storey. Governors assistant women’s golf coach Amy McCollum (ladies closest to the hole), Eunice Washington (men’s closest to the hole) and Daniel Park (straightest drive) were individual winners.

At Swan Lake, Austin Peay Athletics Hall of Famer Red Roberts was joined by Paul Nadeau, Dustin Smith and Gary Shepard for a 52, good for a one-shot victory over the Harold Stafford-Jim Hite-Tom Oliver-Ed Wilkins quartet, with Tom Scillian-Glen Welch-Ken Willshire-Brian Dewers in third (54). The ladies closest to the hole award was taken by Beverly Watson, with Jeremy Wix taking the men’s honor; straightest drive went to Seth Morrison.

In a tightly contested battle at Novadell, the Josh Baggett-Mike Hyams-Ben Cash-Rusty Hagenbuch quartet won a scorecard playoff with a 48, defeating teams featuring Governors men’s golf coach Robbie Wilson‘s (Wilson-David Saldana-William Potts-Josh McWirter) and Austin Peay football head coach Will Healy (Healy-J.D. Sellers-Patrick Ashford-Allen Purdy). Closest to the hole honors went to Adam Welch and Scott Samuels, with Larry Dean taking straightest drive.


Latest Articles