47.4 F
Monday, November 28, 2022
HomeSportsAPSU's Alex Robles makes final 18 on 2016 John Olerud Two-Way Player...

APSU’s Alex Robles makes final 18 on 2016 John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Watch List

APSU Sports Information

APSU Women's Tennis - Austin Peay State UniversityLubbock, TX – Junior Alex Robles, of the Austin Peay State University baseball team, has made the final 18 on the 2016 John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Watch List.

Robles, of Tucson, Arizona, landed on the Ohio Valley Conference Preseason All-OVC First Team as both a starting pitcher and utility player, and has lived up to the billing in 2016.

APSU Baseball's Alex Robles

In 12 starts this season, Robles has served as the Govs ace, posting an 8-4 record, 4.35 ERA and 65 strikeouts as the Friday night starter.

In addition to his pitching accomplishments, Robles is currently batting at a .325 clip with four home runs and 35 RBI, primarily in the designated hitter role. Defensively, the junior has seen time at third and first base with just one error commited.

It is the second consecutive year Robles has made the prestigious watch list. Last season, Robles became a finalist – one of 10 players – as the watch list voting was narrowed.

The award is named for the former Washington State University standout who achieved success both as a first baseman and left-handed pitcher during the late 1980s and who was inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2007. The award will be presented as part of the Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions celebration July 1-2 in Lubbock.

For more information on the Olerud Award or the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions, visit www.collegebaseballhall.org.

2016 John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Watch List

Brandon Gold, Georgia Tech, ACC
Brendan McKay, Louisville, ACC
Adam Haseley, Virginia, ACC
Will Craig, Wake Forest, ACC
Corbin Olmstead, North Florida, Atlantic Sun
Sheldon Neuse, Oklahoma, Big 12
Luken Baker, TCU, Big 12
Carmen Benedetti, Michigan, Big 10
Matt Fiedler, Minnesota, Big 10
Daniel Brumbaugh, Richmond, Colonial Athletic
Sean Labsan, Florida Atlantic, Conference USA
Alex Mauricio, Norfolk State, MEAC
Darick Hall, Dallas Baptist, Missouri Valley
Andrew Hinckley, Central Conn., State Northeast
Alex Robles, Austin Peay, Ohio Valley
Bobby Dalbec, Arizona, Pac-12
Anthony Herrera, Louisiana-Monroe, Sun Belt
Anthony Gonsolin, St. Mary’s (Calif.), West Coast


Latest Articles