29.9 F
Thursday, February 2, 2023
HomeSportsAustin Peay State University Men's Golf to play Joe Feaganes Invitational

Austin Peay State University Men’s Golf to play Joe Feaganes Invitational

APSU Sports Information

APSU Men's Golf - Austin Peay State UniversityClarksville, TN – Austin Peay State University men’s golf opens its 2016-17 season by heading to Charleston, West Virginia for the Joe Feaganes Invitational, hosted by Marshall.

Nestled along the Appalachian plateau, Berry Hills Country Club will be the site of the two-day, 54-hole event.

Austin Peay Golf travels to Charleston for Joe Feaganes Invitational hosted by Marshall. (APSU Sports Information)
Austin Peay Golf travels to Charleston for Joe Feaganes Invitational hosted by Marshall. (APSU Sports Information)

It will be Austin Peay’s first appearance in Marshall’s home tournament since 2010, when Anthony Bradley earned a tie for seventh.

For this season, the tournament was recently moved from Guyan Golf and Country Club, which had been the tournament’s site since it’s move to fall during the 2010 season.

Integrating four newcomers and replacing the production of Austin Kramer and Chris Baker will be the order of the fall for head coach Robbie Wilson. Senior Erik Hedberg and junior Justin Arens, who combined to register nearly half of Austin Peay’s nine rounds in the 60s last season, will slot in as top-of-the-lineup players early on and allow four newcomers—Darton State transfer Hunter Tidwell, Michael Busse, Austin Lancaster and Alex Vegh—to get acclimated to the Division I game.

“Our team just finished up an intense three weeks of qualifying and I really like where we are,” said head coach Robbie Wilson. “We will have three new faces in the starting lineup and Alex will be competing for us as an individual.

“To play well this week we have to eliminate some big numbers and really hit our wedges well. This is a shorter course but there are some challenges around the greens. I’m very excited to see how we compete in our first event of the year.”

The field in West Virginia will once again feature some of the best competition the tournament has seen. In addition to the Governors and host Thundering Herd, the field will feature Bowling Green, Cleveland State, Dayton, George Washington, Longwood, Northern Kentucky, Ohio, Virginia Tech, Wichita State, Wright State and Youngstown State. Ohio Valley Conference foes Belmont and Eastern Kentucky also will be in attendance.


Latest Articles