75.3 F
Wednesday, October 5, 2022
HomePoliticsJoe Pitts sworn in as City of Clarksville Mayor

Joe Pitts sworn in as City of Clarksville Mayor

City of Clarksville

City of Clarksville - Clarksville, TNClarksville, TN – City of Clarksville Mayor Joe Pitts took the Oath of Office on Wednesday, telling a standing room only crowd at the Wilma Rudolph Event Center that it was “time to turn the page and move the city forward, together.”

Judge Tim Barnes, juvenile court judge with General Sessions jurisdiction in Montgomery County, administered the oath to Pitts, who then swore in three new City Council members and one incumbent member.

City of Clarksville's new mayor Joe Pitts was sworn in Wednesday.
City of Clarksville’s new mayor Joe Pitts was sworn in Wednesday.

After being sworn in, Mayor Pitts took several minutes to acknowledge his wife, Cynthia, and many family members and supporters; local and state officeholders; Montgomery County officials; and military veterans and families.

He also struck a similar “big tent” theme in his brief speech, and pledged to forge a new and better relationship with Montgomery County government.

“Let us move boldly into this New Year in togetherness and unity,” Mayor Pitts said. “We come from many places, but one thing we all have in common is Clarksville. May God bless this wonderful place and all who call it home.”

Newly elected City of Clarksville Council members take oath
Newly elected City of Clarksville Council members take oath

New Council members who took the oath of office Wednesday were Vondell Richmond, Ward 2; Travis Holleman, Ward 7; and Stacey Streetman, Ward 10.

Incumbent City Council members who are returning for another term are Wanda Smith, Ward 6, who took her oath Wednesday; and Richard Garrett, Ward 1, and Bill Powers, Ward 11. Garrett will be sworn in January 7th, and Powers will be sworn in January 3rd.

Mayor Pitts and the incoming Council members were chosen by voters in the November 6th City general election, and each will begin a four-year term. Members from the other six wards — Ron Erb, Ward 3; Tim Chandler, Ward 4; Valerie Guzman, Ward 5; David Allen, Ward 8; Jeff Henley, Ward 9; and Jeff Burkhart, Ward 12 — are in the middle of their current four-year terms.

The public swearing-in ceremony was conducted during a special called session that also included election of Councilman David Allen as Mayor Pro Tem. Allen was nominated by Pitts and unanimously elected by the 10 council members present.

Earlier, Pitts released his City Council committee assignments for the next two years.

They are:

Community & Economic Development
David Allen, Chair; Travis Holleman, Wanda Smith, Stacey Streetman, Jeff Burkhart.

Parks & Recreation
Valerie Guzman, Chair; Richard Garrett, Travis Holleman, Stacey Streetman, Vondell Richmond.

Gas & Water
Bill Powers, Chair; Tim Chandler, Valerie Guzman, David Allen, Ron Erb.

Streets & Garage
Tim Chandler, Chair; Bill Powers, Ron Erb, Richard Garrett, Jeff Henley.

Public Safety
Jeff Henley, Chair; Vondell Richmond; Ron Erb, Wanda Smith, Travis Holleman.

Wanda Smith, Chair; Richard Garrett, Vondell Richmond, Bill Powers, Jeff Burkhart.

Jeff Burkhart, Chair; Tim Chandler, Valerie Guzman, Jeff Henley, Stacey Streetman.


Latest Articles