54 F
Monday, September 26, 2022
HomeNews Tennessee Department of Transportation announces Aeronautics Grants for 14 Tennessee Airports

Tennessee Department of Transportation announces Aeronautics Grants for 14 Tennessee Airports

$17.9 Million Provides for Infrastructure and Other Improvements
Clarksville Outlaw Field to receive $2,450,000 in Grants

Tennessee Department of TransportationNashville, TN – The Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) announced today that federal and state aeronautics grants totaling $17,968,888 have been approved for 14 Tennessee airports.

The grants are made available through the Tennessee Department of Transportation’s Aeronautics Division. The Division administers federal and state funding to assist in the location, design, construction and maintenance of Tennessee’s diverse public aviation system.

Airports receiving grants include:

  • Clarksville (Montgomery County) – Outlaw Field
  • Nashville (Davidson County) – John C. Tune Airport
  • Crossville (Cumberland County) – Crossville Memorial Airport
  • Selmer (McNairy County) – Robert Sibley Airport
  • Dyersburg (Dyer County) – Dyersburg Regional Airport
  • Shelbyville (Bedford County) – Shelbyville Municipal Airport
  • Knoxville (Knox County) – Downtown Island Airport
  • Smyrna (Rutherford County) – Smyrna Airport
  • Knoxville (Knox County) – McGhee Tyson Airport
  • Tri-Cities (Sullivan County) – Tri-Cities Regional Airport
  • Millington (Shelby County) – Millington Regional Jetport
  • Union City (Obion County) – Everett-Stewart Regional Airport
  • Nashville (Davidson County) – Nashville International Airport
  • Winchester (Franklin County) – Winchester Municipal Airport

For more details on each of these grants visit:


Clarksville’s Outlaw Field to receive $50,000 grant for tree clearing and $2,400,000 for Apron Rehabilitation.

Except for routine expenditures, grant applications are reviewed by the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission (TAC), which is a five member board charged with policy planning and with regulating changes in the state Airport System Plan. The board carefully reviews all applications for grants to ensure that the proper state and local matching funds are in place and that the grants will be used for needed improvements.

The TDOT Aeronautics Division has the responsibility of inspecting and licensing the state’s 126 heliports and 75 public/general aviation airports.  The Division also provides aircraft and related services for state government and staffing for the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission.


Latest Articles