71.1 F
Friday, October 7, 2022
HomeEventsSusan Gregg Gilmore to Keynote Tenth Annual Clarksville Writers Conference, June 5th-6th,...

Susan Gregg Gilmore to Keynote Tenth Annual Clarksville Writers Conference, June 5th-6th, 2014

Clarksville Arts and Heritage Development CouncilClarksville, TN – The Clarksville Arts and Heritage Development Council, in partnership with Austin Peay State University and the Tennessee Arts Commission, is pleased to announce the Tenth Annual Clarksville Writers Conference, being held June 5th and 6th, 2014, on the campus of Austin Peay State University.

We are very honored to have as this year’s keynote speaker Susan Gregg Gilmore, critically-acclaimed novelist and author of Looking for Salvation at the Dairy Queen, The Improper Life of Bezellia Grove and The Funeral Dress.

Tenth Annual Clarksville Writers Conference Keynote speaker Susan Gregg Gilmore
Tenth Annual Clarksville Writers Conference Keynote speaker Susan Gregg Gilmore

Gilmore will speak at Thursday evening’s banquet at the Clarksville Regional Airport Terminal (John F. Outlaw Field), featuring a gorgeous panoramic view of the airfield and runway.

The conference banquet will be encompassed by two days of interesting presentations and valuable workshops on Thursday and Friday, June 5th and 6th, on the campus of Austin Peay State University.

Authors scheduled to speak include:

  • Wade Bourne, outdoors enthusiast, founder and host of the award-winning syndicated “Wired2Fish Radio,” editor-at-large for Ducks Unlimited Magazine, and author of six books including Fishing Made Easy;
  • Sue Freeman Culverhouse, journalist and author of Tennessee Literary Luminaries: From Cormac McCarthy to Robert Penn Warren;
  • David and Teresa Elder, owners of independent book publishing company RA Publishing;
  • Beverly Fisher, author of historical fiction novella Grace Among the Leavings, based on her grandfather’s stories of his Civil War ancestor;
  • Melissa Ginsburg, Oxford, Mississippi-based poet and author of the poetry collection Dear Weather Ghost and the chapbook Arbor;
  • David Huddle, author of critically-acclaimed novels The Story of a Million Years and Nothing Can Make Me Do This and poetry collection Black Snake at the Family Reunion;
  • Zachary Michael Jack, author of more than twenty award-winning books in genres including fantasy, young adult, mystery, narrative nonfiction, literary journalism, memoir and narrative poetry;
  • Melanie Meadow, author of The Waking Up, a work of historical fiction about the Second Great Awakening, and the novel ColorBlind;
  • Chris Offutt, critically-acclaimed author of short story collections Kentucky Straight and Out of the Woods, memoir The Same River Twice and novel The Good Brother;
  • Stephen Ornes, award-winning freelance science journalist and co-author of the Science Writers’ Handbook;
  • Shana Thornton, owner of independent book publishing company Thorncraft Publishing;
  • Bud Willis, Florida-based journalist and author of the novel Marble Mountain: A Vietnam Memoir.

In addition to the scheduled presentations and workshops, free manuscript consultations with two literary agents are available to conference participants:

  • Malaga Baldi, literary agent with New York-based Baldi Agency;
  • Ken Sherman, literary agent with Los Angeles-based Ken Sherman & Associates.

A limited number of writers’ circle sessions with Zachary Michael Jack for an additional charge of $45.00.

A complete package including all conference activities is offered, as well as a la carte options. Discounted rates are available for early registration, which is postmarked on or before May 22nd, 2014. (Late registration is postmarked between May 23rd and May 29th, 2014.) Visit the conference website at www.artsandheritage.us/writers for author bios, the conference schedule, registration information and more.

About the Clarksville Writers Conference

The 2014 Clarksville Writers Conference is made possible in part through the generous support of the Clarksville Arts & Heritage Development Council, Austin Peay State University, Tennessee Arts Commission, City of Clarksville, Gannett Foundation / The Leaf-Chronicle, APSU Office of President Tim Hall, Middle Tennessee Tourism Council, Fort Campbell Officers’ Spouses’ Club, and the Customs House Museum and Cultural Center.

Additional sponsors include Dave and Jennie Beth Johnston, Dee Boaz, Sarah and Alex Darnell, Ned and Jacqueline Crouch, Wendell and Jean Gilbert, Dewey and Helga Browder, and Susan H. Menees. The conference was developed in 2005 by Patricia Winn.


Latest Articles