90.1 F
Friday, June 24, 2022
HomeSportsAPSU Governors Golf's Marco Iten discovers Regional destination Monday

APSU Governors Golf’s Marco Iten discovers Regional destination Monday

Austin Peay Sports Information

Austin Peay State University Governors - APSUClarksville, TN – Austin Peay State University senior golfer Marco Iten will discover Monday where he will be playing in the 2014 NCAA Men’s Golf Regional.

The 2014 field will be announced between 10:00am-11:00am during Golf Channel programming.

APSU's Marco Iten

The NCAA Regionals will be held May 15th-17th and take place at six sites – Auburn, Alabama; Raleigh, North Carolina; Columbia, Missouri; San Antonio, Texas; Eugene, Oregon, and Sugar Grove, Illinois.

Following the Regionals, the National Championship will be held May 23rd-28th at the Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kansas.

This will be the second straight year the senior from Niederlatt, Switzerland native will be participating in NCAA Regional play. Last spring, he was a member of the Governors team that finished tied for seventh in the NCAA Tempe Regional.

This year Iten will be going alone, despite his outstanding Ohio Valley Conference tournament play. The Governors tied for second behind Jacksonville State in last weekend’s Ohio Valley Conference tournament.

Iten, who was leading at 8-under (68-68=136) after the OVC championship second round, was declared medalist after rains and lightning twice halted last Sunday’s final round. The league medalist, if not a member of the championship team, earns an automatic qualifier position.

Iten not only claimed OVC Championship Medalist—it was his third medalist honor this spring—but also was selected OVC Golfer of the Year in a vote of league coaches.

This is the third straight year APSU has been represented in the NCAA Regional. In 2012, Anthony Bradley was the OVC Medalist and participated in the NCAA Regional in Bowling Green, KY, before last season’s trip to Arizona. Iten finished with a 3-under 207 and tied for 13th in Tempe.

Iten will become only the fourth Governor to participate in the NCAA Regional as an individual, joining Craig Rudolph (1987), Grant Leaver (2008) and Bradley (2012).


Latest Articles