49 F
Wednesday, September 28, 2022
HomeNewsUnseasonably Wet Weather Pattern setting up for the Clarksville-Montgomery County Area

Unseasonably Wet Weather Pattern setting up for the Clarksville-Montgomery County Area

National Weather Service

National Weather ServiceNashville, TN – Even though October may be the driest month of the year, a rainy pattern is setting up for the weekend and into early next week. A frontal boundary positioned from near Little Rock into Southeast Kentucky will remain nearly stationary over the next few days.

Allowing for periods of heavy rain to impact Middle Tennessee as a series of shortwaves track through the Central U.S. Rainfall amounts by Sunday morning could range from 1 to 3 inches with locally higher amounts around 4 inches possible across much of the Clarksville Montgomery County area, and the Mid-State.

This would lead to elevated levels on creeks and streams. As well as ponding of water in low lying and poor draining areas.

Another round of heavy rain is expected Monday and Monday night as a strong front moves through. Intense rainfall rates and amounts are likely with this passing front. This could lead to flash flooding as soil moisture conditions would be nearly saturated.

After the front moves through early Tuesday, storm total rainfall amounts around 5 inches could lead to some flooding of main stem rivers across Middle Tennessee. At this time, uncertainty lies with exactly where and how much rain will fall over the weekend. Stay tuned to later forecasts and statements as flash flood watches or warnings may be issued.

As always. If flooding is observed or a warning is issued get to higher ground immediately. Never attempt to cross a flooded roadway. Turn around, don`t drown!

Counties Affected

Bedford County, Benton County, Cannon County, Cheatham County, Clay County, Coffee County, Cumberland County, Davidson County, De Kalb County, Dickson County, Fentress County, Giles County, Grundy County, Hickman County, Houston County, Humphreys County, Jackson County, Lawrence County, Lewis County, Macon County, Marshall County, Maury County, Montgomery County, Overton County, Perry County, Pickett County, Putnam County, Robertson County, Rutherford County, Smith County, Stewart County, Sumner County, Trousdale County, Van Buren County, Warren County, Wayne County, White County, Williamson County, and Wilson County.


Latest Articles