Clarksville, TN Online: News, Opinion, Arts & Entertainment.

22nd Annual APSU Governors Bass Tournament to be held Saturday, May 14th


APSU Sports Information

APSU Governors Bass TournamentClarksville, TN – The 22nd annual Austin Peay State University Governors Bass Tournament is just 10 days away.

This year’s edition will be held Saturday, May 14th, at Kentucky Lake, with registration and boat launching from Paris Landing State Park. Last season’s tourney drew more than 200 boats.

The tournament will benefit Austin Peay State University athletics. More than $12,000 dollars in prize money will be awarded.

Austin Peay Governors Bass Tournament

Austin Peay Governors Bass Tournament

Previously, the Top 25 places earned cash prizes but now only the Top 10 places will gain monetary awards, meaning greater cash payouts, respectively, for those positions.

A guaranteed first-place prize of $5,000 will be awarded—that has not changed. Second-place, however, is now $2,000, with third ($1,500) and fourth ($1,000) and fifth ($750). Sixth-through-10th place each will receive $400. In addition, $2,000 will be awarded in door prizes.

The tournament is sponsored by Legends Bank, Morgan Contractors Inc., The Leaf-Chronicle, Jenkins and Wynne Ford Lincoln Mercury Honda, Tailwater Marine and Tackle, WJZM 1400 AM, WKDZ 106.5 FM, WVRY 105.1 FM Solid Gospel, Walmart Supercenters (Clarksville), DBS and Associates Engineering, Inc. (David Smith), Academy Sports + Outdoors, The Tackle Box, The Clarksville Marina at Liberty Park, Discover Clarksville, Reed Baldwin and Baldwin Builders, Clarksville Floor Covering, Gateway Tire and Service, Clarksville Online, Clarksville Sports Network along with the Governors Club.

Jeffery Archie and Zach Parker won 21st Annual Austin Peay Governors Bass Tournament

Jeffery Archie and Zach Parker won 21st Annual Austin Peay Governors Bass Tournament

The tourney will begin 6:00am, May 14th, although all contestants must be checked in between 4:00am-5:30am, with a mandatory meeting on the water at 5:45 a.m. Pre-registration entry fee is $110.00 per boat (two people per boat), $125.00 after noon, Friday, May 13th.

Fishing with artificial baits only is authorized with no motor trolling allowed. A five-fish limit per boat exists.

Steven Hudson and Micah Smith came in 2nd

Steven Hudson and Micah Smith came in 2nd

The Governors Club will serve sausage biscuits prior to the tournament and hamburgers and hot dogs at weigh-in.

Weigh in will begin at 2:30pm and boats launching will take place in order of postmark of entry form. Only largemouth, smallmouth and spotted bass measuring 15 inches (with mouth closed) will be weighed.

Last year, the team of Jeffery Archie and Zach Parker, of Paris, captured the $5,000 first-place prize with a five-fish weigh-in of 26.06. The haul surpassed the team of Steven Hudson (Erin) and Micah Smith (Tennessee Ridge), who brought in 22.64 pounds of bass.

James Christian and Shane Melton won for the biggest bass.

James Christian and Shane Melton won for the biggest bass.

Bill Lyons (Vanleer) and Dennis Black (Dickson), was third with a catch of 22.01 pounds.

Peyton Gibbs (Dickson) walked away with the grand door prize of $2,000.

For the entry form and more information, stop by the APSU University Advancement office or call 931.221.7352 or 931.221.7127, between 8:00am-4:30pm. After business hours, call 931.279.0905 or 931.624.2909.

In addition, all this information, including the entry form, is available at the APSU athletics web site: or




, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On YoutubeCheck Our FeedVisit Us On Instagram
  • Personal Controls