43.2 F
Wednesday, October 27, 2021
HomeSportsAPSU Football's Ryan Rockensuess named semifinalist for William V. Campbell Trophy

APSU Football’s Ryan Rockensuess named semifinalist for William V. Campbell Trophy

APSU Sports Information

APSU FootballIrving, TX – Austin Peay State University (APSU) football student-athlete Ryan Rockensuess has been named one of 179 semifinalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame announced Wednesday.

Austin Peay Football's Ryan Rockensuess named semifinalist for William V. Campbell Trophy. (APSU Sports Information)

The William V. Campbell Trophy recognizes an individual as the best scholar-athlete in the nation.

The award is named after Bill Campbell, former chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal.

In order to be nominated, a student-athlete must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility and maintain a 3.2 GPA or higher, have outstanding football ability and demonstrate outstanding leadership and citizenship.

The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on October 31st, and each of the finalists will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship and will be invited to New York for the 61st NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 4th. The winner of the Campbell trophy will receive a $25,000 postgraduate scholarship.

Rockensuess is a four-year starter for the Governors at offensive guard, and has helped lead the Governors to back-to-back 4,000-yard offensive seasons for the first time in school history. He was a critical piece to the 2017 offense that set school records in points, touchdowns, yards and yards per play.

For his efforts, Rockensuess was named Second-Team All-Ohio Valley Conference in 2017, and earned Preseason All-OVC recognition prior to the 2018 season.

As a Bachelor in Business Administration – Finance student, Rockensuess has a 3.688 GPA. He was a 2017 CoSIDA Academic All-District selection, and has been named to the OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll each of his first three years on campus. He has been named to the Dean’s List four times and the Athletic Director’s Honor Roll twice.

In the community, he has spent time reading to children through Reading Across America at Burt Elementary School in Clarksville, and assisted in disaster relief after a tornado struck Clarksville in February of 2018.

Rockensuess is the Governors’ 17th Campbell Trophy semifinalist since 2000. Previous recipients of the award include Danny Wuerffel, Peyton Manning, Kyle Vanden Bosch, Alex Mack and Tim Tebow.


Latest Articles