78.4 F
Friday, August 12, 2022
HomeNewsMcMillan Elected to Mayors’ Conference Leadership

McMillan Elected to Mayors’ Conference Leadership

City of ClarksvilleClarksville, TN – Clarksville Mayor Kim McMillan has been elected to the U.S. Conference of Mayors top leadership team during the organization’s 79th Annual Meeting in Baltimore.  She joins 29 other mayors from cities across the country on the Advisory Board.  She and Chattanooga Mayor Ron Littlefield are the only mayors from Tennessee to serve in leadership positions in the Conference. 

“I am pleased and honored to represent Clarksville in this prestigious organization” said McMillan.  “The U.S. Conference of Mayors is the official, non-partisan group that represents the 1,191 cities in the country with populations of 30,000 or more.  The work of the Conference will definitely benefit Clarksville through the development of national urban/suburban policy and strengthened federal/city relationships.”

The Mayors Conference also elected Los Angeles Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa as a president taking over for Burnsville Mayor Elizabeth Kautz.  Philadelphia Mayor Michael Nutter was elected vice president and Mesa, Arizona, Mayor Scott Smith was chosen as second vice president.

During the recent Annual Meeting, mayors met to discuss a broad range of policy issues affecting America’s cities, including infrastructure and education reform.  As Conference President, Mayor Villaraigosa will set the organization’s agenda, appoint committee and task force chairs and serve as the national spokesperson.

“Our cities, our investments must be more metropolitan-focused, more forward-looking, and more environmentally sustainable,” Villaraigosa said in his inaugural remarks.  “It’s time to prioritize spending on our pressing metropolitan transportation infrastructure needs.  We need to demand investments that connect people to jobs.”

As a member of the Conference leadership team, Mayor McMillan will be asked to attend policy meetings in the upcoming year, addressing pressing issues affecting America’s cities.  The meetings are currently scheduled to take place in Los Angeles, Washington, D.C., and Orlando.


Latest Articles