54.5 F
Wednesday, October 5, 2022
HomeEducationAPSU graduate student James DeMoss receives Carlisle Award

APSU graduate student James DeMoss receives Carlisle Award

Austin Peay State University

Austin Peay State UniversityClarksville, TN – James DeMoss, an Austin Peay State University graduate student majoring in English, was selected November 17th as the recipient of the prestigious Carlisle Award at the closing ceremonies of the Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature (TISL).

He and nine other SGA student leaders represented APSU during four days of legislative debate in the state’s capital.

The Carlisle Award is the oldest and most prestigious award presented at TISL and is bestowed on only 10 students from across the state of Tennessee. The Carlisle Award is named in honor of TISL’s founder, Dr. Douglas Carlisle.

“Of particular importance is the fact that DeMoss was also the recipient of this award when he represented Austin Peay while attending the 2011 TISL Conference and served on the SGA Senate as an undergraduate student,” said Greg Singleton, associate vice president and dean of students at APSU. “He is one of only a select few students to ever win this award for two consecutive years.”

DeMoss received his B.S. degree in May 2012 from APSU and continues to serve as a graduate senator this year in the Student Government Association.


Latest Articles