43.2 F
Wednesday, February 28, 2024
HomeEducationAPSU's Acuff Circle of Excellence seeking 2014 Ovation Award nominations

APSU’s Acuff Circle of Excellence seeking 2014 Ovation Award nominations

APSU Center of Excellence for the Creative ArtsClarksville, TN – The Acuff Circle of Excellence, a nonprofit patron society of the Austin Peay State University Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts, is seeking nominations for the coveted Ovation Awards, presented annually since 1996.

The nominees must have made significant contributions to the artistic and cultural life of the Clarksville-Montgomery County community. Anyone can submit nominations.

While the Ovation Awards will be presented at a celebration on March 2nd, 2014, at the Customs House Museum and Cultural Center, nominations are being sought now through Friday, January 17th, 2014.

The award categories in which nominations are sought are

Individual Artist: A living Tennessee artist, active in the field of literature, visual arts, performing arts, music, folk arts, architecture or design, who lives or lived in Montgomery County. Past award winners include Mike Fink, Susan Bryant and Charlotte O. Marshall.

Young Artist: A high school student in Clarksville-Montgomery County who has shown exceptional gifts through student or community performances, exhibitions or publications. Past award winners include Abigail Elmore of Northwest High School and Webb Booth, Elizabeth Coleman, Autumn Crofton, Haedyn King and Hugh Poland with the Roxy School of the Arts.

Community: A Clarksville-Montgomery County community organization or institution for an outstanding arts-based community program or project. Schools and the school district are not eligible in this category. Past award winners include The Roxy Regional Theatre, Empty Bowls Clarksville, the Downtown Clarksville Association and Immaculate Conception Catholic Church International Day.

Business: A business or corporation that has made a significant contribution to support arts and culture in Montgomery County. Government agencies are not eligible. Past winners include The Leaf-Chronicle, Silke’s Olde World Breads, F&M Bank and Beachaven Vineyards and Winery.

The Ovation Awards also include The George Mabry Award. Nominees for this honor come from the Acuff Circle board of directors. It recognizes a living Tennessean who has made a significant impact on arts and culture in Montgomery County through philanthropy, leadership or direct involvement, or a Tennessee individual who has advanced arts and culture through innovative work in creating or supporting the arts in Montgomery County. Past award winners include Olen Bryant, Anne Glass, Frank Lott and David Alford.

To nominate someone in the Individual Artist, Young Artist, Community or Business categories, submit a completed nomination form that can be downloaded at www.apsu.edu/creativearts/ovation or at the following locations: the Clarksville Chamber of Commerce, the Clarksville-Montgomery County Public Library or the Customs House Museum and Cultural Center.

The nomination should include a description of up to 250 words of the individual or organization’s artistic contributions. Nominations may be emailed to harveyc@apsu.edu or mailed to Ovation Awards, Center of Excellence for the Creative Arts, Austin Peay State University, Box 4666, Clarksville, TN 37044.

For more information on the nomination process and the Ovation Awards, contact the Center at 931.221.7876.


Latest Articles