30.9 F
Thursday, February 2, 2023
HomeSportsAPSU Football's Pat Walker an NFF Campbell Trophy semifinalist

APSU Football’s Pat Walker an NFF Campbell Trophy semifinalist

APSU FootballIrving, TX – Austin Peay State University (APSU) football student-athlete Pat Walker has been named one of 185 semifinalists for the William V. Campbell Trophy, the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame announced Wednesday, September 25th, 2019.

Austin Peay Football's Pat Walker a 2019 NFF Campbell Trophy semifinalist. (APSU Sports Information)

The William V. Campbell Trophy recognizes an individual as the best scholar-athlete in the nation. The award is named after Bill Campbell, former chairman of Intuit, former player and head coach at Columbia University and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal.

In order to be nominated, a student-athlete must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility and maintain a 3.2 GPA or higher, have outstanding football ability and demonstrate outstanding leadership and citizenship.

The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on October 30th, and each of the finalists will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship and will be invited to New York for the 62nd NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 10th. The winner of the 30th Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda will have his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000.

Walker is a two-year starter for the APSU Govs at linebacker since arriving from East Central Community College; this season, he has taken on a more prominent role with the departure of Gunnar Scholato and ranks second on the team with 25 tackles through four games, with a team-high 3.5 tackles for loss.

He recorded 53 tackles as a starter on the weakside a year ago and now needs just 22 tackles for 100 in his Austin Peay State University career.

Walker already has one degree from Austin Peay State University, earning his bachelor’s in Health and Human Performance with a 3.49 GPA; he’s now back for a second degree in Education. He’s been a two-time Dean’s List honoree and a two-time member of the AD’s Honor Roll.

In the community, he spends each Friday during the school year helping at the on-campus food pantry. He also has helped with service events at Burt Elementary School, Mana Café and in Lincoln Homes.

Walker is the APSU Governors’ 18th Campbell Trophy semifinalist since 2000. Previous recipients of the award include Danny Wuerffel, Peyton Manning, Kyle Vanden Bosch, Alex Mack and Tim Tebow.


Latest Articles