81.5 F
Tuesday, May 17, 2022
HomeEventsGovernor's Environmental Stewardship Awards Ceremony set for June 12th

Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards Ceremony set for June 12th

TDEC environmentandconservationNashville – Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation has announced that the Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards Ceremony will be held on June 12th starting at 1:00 p.m.  The ceremony will be attended by state government officials.

TDEC Commissioner Jim Fyke and Deputy Commissioner Paul Sloan will be joined by Deputy Governor John Morgan in presenting this year’s stewardship awards at the Ed Jones Auditorium on the Ellington Agriculture Center campus in Nashville.

gov_award_menu_iconThe Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards program recognizes exemplary voluntary actions that improve or protect our environment and natural resources with projects or initiatives that are not required by law or regulations. Fourteen awards will be  presented to individuals, community organizations and government agencies whose achievements were recognized for their positive impact on the state’s natural resources.  This year marks the 23rd year for the awards program.

The awards and recipients are as follows:

  • Agriculture / Forestry: Take Root Chattanooga, Hamilton County
  • Aquatic Resource Preservation: Tennessee Environmental Council’s Duck River Opportunities Project, Maury County
  • Building Green: Vanderbilt University / The Commons Phase II, Davidson County
  • Energy Leadership: Gear up for Clean Energy / Crockett Goes Green, Washington County
  • Environmental Education / Outreach: Bridgestone Environmental Education Classroom and Habitat / Warren Plant, Warren County
  • Greenways and Trails: Wolf River Environmental Restoration Project, Shelby County
  • Green Schools / K-12: David Lipscomb Elementary School, Davidson County
  • Green Schools / Higher Education: Lipscomb University, Davidson County
  • Hazardous Waste Reduction: Tennessee Galvanizing, Inc., Marion County
  • Natural Heritage: Land Trust for Tennessee / The Lost Cove Project, Franklin County
  • Parks and Recreation: The Bear Trace Golf Course at Harrison Bay, Hamilton County
  • Pollution Prevention: JTEKT Automotive Tennessee / Vonore, Monroe County
  • Solid Waste Reduction: Procter & Gamble, Madison County
  • Robert Sparks Walker Lifetime Achievement Award: To Be Announced at Event

For more information about the Governor’s Environmental Stewardship Awards program, please visit: www.tn.gov/environment/awards/. Additional information about this year’s award recipients can be found at: www.tn.gov/environment/awards/09awds/09winners_1.pdf.


Latest Articles