48.2 F
Saturday, December 10, 2022
HomeSportsAPSU Governors Tennis loses tough match to Belmont Bruins

APSU Governors Tennis loses tough match to Belmont Bruins

Austin Peay Sports Information

Austin Peay State University Governors Sports - APSUNashville, TN – In a rematch of last season’s Ohio Valley Conference Championship match, Belmont got the better of Austin Peay State University men’s tennis team, handing the Govs a hard-fought 4-3 loss, Saturday, at Centennial Sportsplex.

Austin Peay Men's Tennis. (Brittney Sparn/APSU Sports Information)
Austin Peay Men’s Tennis. (Brittney Sparn/APSU Sports Information)

The loss drops Austin Peay to 6-4 on the season, 1-1 in the OVC – it’s the Govs’ first loss to an OVC opponent since April 13th, 2013 against Tennessee Tech. Belmont improves to 4-8, 2-0 in conference play.

With play reversed due to the threat of potential rain, the Govs and Belmont split the six singles matches. An injury gave freshman Manuel Montenegro a default win at No. 6 singles, while juniors Dimitar Ristovski and Iago Seffrin each added singles wins. Ristovski defeated Marko Lovrinovic (6-3, 7-5) at No. 2, while got his first singles win of the spring with a 6-2, 7-6 win against Henrik Claesson at No. 4.

Absent from that list of victors was junior Aleksas Tverijonas, who suffered his first loss of the spring to Cedric Dujacquier (6-4, 6-3) at No. 3 singles.

With the match deadlocked after singles play, doubles commenced. Seffrin and Ristovski made light work of Hans Nardelli and Martijn Verberne, winning 8-1 at No. 2. However, the Govs were unable to secure the point, with Tverijonas and senior Jasmin Ademovic dropping a tough 8-7 decision at No. 1 to Lovrinovic and Mauricio Antun.

Austin Peay looks to bounce back Sunday with an 11:00am match against Tennessee State.

Box Score


1.       Mauricio Antun (BEL) def. Jasmin Ademovic (APSU) 6-4, 6-3
2.       Dimitar Ristovski (APSU) def. Marko Lovrinovic (BEL) 6-3, 7-5
3.       Cedric Dujacquier (BEL) def. Aleksas Tverijonas (APSU) 6-4, 6-3
4.       Iago Seffrin (APSU) def. Henrik Claesson (BEL) 6-2, 7-6
5.       Hans Nardelli (BEL) def. James Mitchell (APSU) 6-3, 6-7, 6-4
6.       Manuel Montenegro (APSU) def. Martijn Verberne (BEL) 1-0 (def.)


1.       Antun/Lovrinovic (BEL) def. Ademovic/Tverijonas (APSU) 8-7
2.       Seffrin/Ristovski (APSU) def. Nardelli/Verberne (BEL) 8-1
3.       Dujacquier/Claesson (BEL) def. Mitchell/Montenegro (APSU) 8-3


Latest Articles