46.3 F
Thursday, April 25, 2024
HomeEducationAPSU Greek community receives high honors in spring 2015

APSU Greek community receives high honors in spring 2015

APSU LogoClarksville, TN – This spring, the fraternity and sorority community at Austin Peay State University continues to excel with many chapters and members receiving prestigious awards and recognitions.

The recent accomplishments are listed below.

  • Kappa Alpha Order, the Zeta Tau Chapter at APSU, received the George C. Marshall and Samuel Zenas Ammen Award during the 2015 Province Council Meeting in Starkville, Mississippi. The Ammen Award recognizes the top 10 percent of Kappa Alpha Order chapters with the highest level of excellence in chapter operations. The coveted George C. Marshall Award is the highest honor that a KA Chapter can receive for superior operations and performance. Only two chapters this year received the Marshall Award. Zeta Tau Chapter at APSU is the youngest chapter to receive the honor in the 150-year history of Kappa Alpha Order.
  • Carrie Taylor, a member of the Eta Gamma Chapter of Alpha Delta Pi, recently was selected as an intern for Alpha Delta Pi Executive Office in Atlanta, Georgia. Taylor is one of 10 students selected for this program after a rigorous interview process.
  • The Tennessee Eta Chapter of Sigma Phi Epsilon recently received the Grand Chapter Scholarship Cup at the 2015 Carlson Leadership Academy in Atlanta, Georgia. The Cup is presented to chapters who rank high in academic standings among fraternities for an academic year. The chapter’s GPA must be above the all-campus average and must be 3.15 or higher for one semester during the academic year.
  • Zac Gillman, SGA president and member of Sigma Phi Epsilon, recently received the J. Edward Zollinger Outstanding Senior Award at the 2015 Carlson Leadership Academy in Atlanta, Georgia. The award is given to one outstanding senior in each district, and the recipient is considered a balanced man who upholds the models of excellence. The award is based on outstanding academic achievement as well as fraternity and campus leadership and community involvement.
  • The Interfraternity Council at APSU received the Interfraternal Excellence Award during the 2015 Southeastern Interfraternity Conference Leadership Academy. To receive the Interfraternal Excellence Award, councils must achieve 85 percent or higher in the areas of council management, chapter services, judicial processes, leadership development, legal concerns, philanthropy and community service, publications, public relations, recruitment, scholarship and academics, and social engagement.

For more information, contact Stephen Dominy, coordinator of Fraternity and Sorority Affairs, at dominys@apsu.edu.


Latest Articles