83.1 F
Wednesday, August 17, 2022
HomeNewsClarksville Montgomery County Regional Airport receives $90,000 Aeronautics Grant from TDOT

Clarksville Montgomery County Regional Airport receives $90,000 Aeronautics Grant from TDOT

Tennessee Department of Transportation provides $4.4 Million for Infrastructure and Other Improvements to 15 Tennessee Airports

Tennessee Department of TransportationNashville, TN – The Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) announced friday that state aeronautics grants totaling $4,413,873 have been approved for fifteen Tennessee airports.

The Clarksville Montgomery County Regional Airport received a $90,000 grant.

The grants are made available through the Tennessee Department of Transportation’s Aeronautics Division.

The Division administers federal and state funding to assist in the location, design, construction and maintenance of Tennessee’s diverse public aviation system.

Except for routine expenditures, grant applications are reviewed by the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission (TAC), which is a five member board charged with policy planning and with regulating changes in the state Airport System Plan. The board carefully reviews all applications for grants to ensure that the proper state and local matching funds are in place and that the grants will be used for needed improvements.

Airports receiving Grants Include

Athens (McMinn County) – McMinn County Airport Lebanon (Wilson County) – Lebanon Municipal Airport
Bolivar (Hardeman County) – William L. Whitehurst Field Morristown (Hamblen County) – Moore-Murrell Field
Clarksville (Montgomery County) – Outlaw Field Murfreesboro (Rutherford County) – Murfreesboro Municipal Airport
Cleveland (Bradley County) – Cleveland Regional Jetport Nashville (Davidson County) – Nashville International Airport
Greeneville (Greene County) – Greeneville – Greene County Municipal Airport Rockwood (Roane County) – Rockwood Municipal Airport
Jacksboro (Campbell County) – Campbell County Airport Sparta (White County) – Upper Cumberland Regional Airport
Knoxville (Knox County) – McGhee Tyson Airport Union City (Obion County) – Everett-Stewart Regional Airport
Lafayette (Macon County) – Lafayette Municipal Airport


The TDOT Aeronautics Division has the responsibility of inspecting and licensing the state’s 142 heliports and 79 public/general aviation airports.  The Division also provides aircraft and related services for state government and staffing for the Tennessee Aeronautics Commission.

For more details on each of these grants visit: http://www.tdot.state.tn.us/news/2013/AeronauticsGrantDetails.pdf


Latest Articles