Clarksville, TN Online: News, Opinion, Arts & Entertainment.

Department of Safety and Homeland Security Issues More than 600 Voter Photo IDs During Special Saturday Hours


Tennessee Department of SafetyNashville, TN – The Department of Safety and Homeland Security issued 663 photo IDs during special Saturday hours of operation at 19 state driver service centers on November 5th. The department issued photo IDs to voters at no charge and converted non-photo driver licenses into photo driver licenses for voters at no charge.

Driver service centers in 15 counties were open on the first Saturday of November and will be open on the first Saturday of each month through March 2012 for voter photo ID issuance. The centers will operate during normal business hours, from 8:30am – 5:00pm for voter photo IDs only. No other business will be conducted in the centers on Saturdays.

The next Saturday opening for voter photo ID issuance is December 3rd, 2011.

Driver service centers will be open on the first Saturday of the month in the following counties: Shelby (East Shelby Drive and Summer Avenue), Davidson (Centennial Boulevard. and Hart Lane), Hamilton (both locations), Knox (both locations), Sullivan, Sumner, Rutherford, Washington, Williamson, Montgomery, Blount, Bradley, Putnam, Greene, and Carter. The centers were chosen based on the counties with the highest number of registered voters who hold non-photo driver licenses.

Under a new state law, starting in 2012 voters will have to show a state or federal issued photo ID to cast a ballot at the polls in Tennessee. As of October 30th, the Department of Safety and Homeland Security had issued 3,071 photo IDs for voting purposes. (This includes original photo IDs and non-photo driver license conversions.)

To minimize the possibility of wait times during Saturday hours, groups or organizations planning to make a group visit to a driver service center are encouraged to schedule an appointment by calling Linda Cone at 731.225.0924 or Wanda Adams at 615.251.5309.

About the Tennessee Department of Safety

The Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security’s (www.TN.Gov/safety) mission is to ensure the safety and general welfare of the public. The department encompasses the Tennessee Highway Patrol, Office of Homeland Security and Driver License Services. General areas of responsibility include law enforcement, safety education, motorist services and terrorism prevention.




, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


You must be logged in to post a comment.

  • Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On PinterestVisit Us On YoutubeCheck Our FeedVisit Us On Instagram
  • Personal Controls