74.6 F
Monday, June 17, 2024
HomeNewsClarksville's Mayor Kim McMillan Re-elected; November 4th Election Results

Clarksville’s Mayor Kim McMillan Re-elected; November 4th Election Results

Election 2014Clarksville, TN – Across Tennessee yesterday, the voters went to the polls to select their representatives for a variety of Federal, State, and Local offices. In Montgomery County voters cast ballots for the Tennessee Governor, U.S. Senator, a Congressman , three Tennessee House seats, the Clarksville City Mayor, and half of the city council seats. Voters also cast ballots on 4 seperate Amendments to the Tennessee Constitution, and a local referendum on allowing retail food stores to offer sell wine in Clarksville; all were approved. Voter turnout was exceptionally low with just 8.09% of the voters choosing to cast ballots in Montgomery county.

In a hard-fought race to become the next Mayor of the city of Clarksville, current Mayor Kim McMillan was reelected with 46.47% of the vote. Challengers Bill Summers and Jeff Burkart split 53.45% of the vote.

Clarksville Mayor Kim McMillan
Clarksville Mayor Kim McMillan

There were several turnovers in the Clarksville city Council.

Richard Garrett defeated incumbent City Councilman Kip McNeil in Ward 1 with 54.76% of the vote.

In Ward 6  Pastor Wanda Smith defeated incumbent City Councilman Marc Harris and two other challengers with an impressive 40.49% of the vote.

City Councilman Bill Summers did not run for reelection in Ward 10 choosing instead to concentrate on the Clarksville Mayor’s race leaving the ward wide open. Mike Alexander and the Dwight Luton faced each other for the seat. Alexander ended up defeating Luton with 54.34% of the vote.

And in another tough race saw Bill Powers defeating incumbent Kaye Jones in Ward 11 with 50.13% of the vote.

Clarksville City Council members Deanna McLaughlin in Ward 2, Geno Grubbs in Ward 7 were reelected.

State races

Moving onto the state level. Republican Governor Bill Haslam was reelected by a handy margin receiving 70.31% of the vote facing down 6 challengers.

all three of Clarksville’s State Representatives were up for reelection. In District 67 incumbent Joe Pitts handily defeating challenger Michael Warner with 69.99% of the vote. In District 68 State Representative Curtis Johnson ran unopposed. In District 74 incumbent John Tidwell was defeated by challenger Jay Reedy with 52.00% of the vote.

Federal races

At the federal level Republican made some significant gains with the party taking control of the U.S. Senate, and maintaining control of the U.S. House.

In Tennessee Sen. Lamar Alexander was reelected with 61.87% of the vote, Democratic challenger Gordon ball received 31.87%.

In the House of Representatives Marsha Blackburn was reelected in the 7th Congressional District with 70.04% of the vote, Democratic challenger Daniel Cramer received 26.73%.

Constitutional amendments and referendums

Tennessee Constitutional Amendment 1 limiting abortion rights under the Tennessee Constitution received the approval of 52.61% of the voters. This amendment was proposed after that the Tennessee State Supreme Court ruling that women’s reproductive rights under the Tennessee Constitution were stronger than those granted by the US Constitution.

Tennessee Constitutional Amendment 2 which empowered the governor to appoint judges to the supreme court or any other state appellate courts subject to confirmation by the general assembly but eliminating the role of the Judicial Nominating Commission. It passed with 60.92% of the vote.

Tennessee Constitutional Amendment 3 prohibits the state legislature from an enacting any state or local income taxes. It received 66.22% of the vote.

Tennessee Constitutional Amendment 4 Amendment 4 allows the state legislature to authorize lotteries via a two-thirds vote for annual events that benefit 501(c)(3) and 501(c)(19) organizations. 501(c)(19) covers veterans organizations.

In Clarksville the referendum authorizing retail wine sales at grocery stores passed with an overwhelming majority with 72.24% voting for approval.

Bill Larson
Bill Larson
Bill Larson is  is politically and socially active in the community. Bill is a member of the Friends of Dunbar Cave. You can reach him via telephone at 931-249-0043 or via the email address below.

Latest Articles