67.8 F
Friday, March 24, 2023
HomeNewsFreeze Warning issued for Clarksville-Montgomery County

Freeze Warning issued for Clarksville-Montgomery County

National Weather ServiceNashville, TN – The National Weather Service (NWS) has issued a Freeze Warning for Clarksville-Montgomery County and all of Middle Tennessee.

The Freeze Warning is in effect from now until 11:00am Tuesday morning. A second Freeze Warning is in effect starting at 8:00pm tonight until 10:00am Wednesday morning.

For the first Freeze Warning, sub-freezing temperatures can reach as low as 26. For the second Freeze Warning, sub-freezing temperatures as low as 20 are expected.

Frost and freeze conditions will kill crops, other sensitive vegetation and possibly damage unprotected outdoor plumbing.

With such warm temperatures so early into spring plants have begun to bloom. Temperatures will continue to drop below freezing as these early morning hours progress with temperatures finally rising above freezing for the entire mid-state by 11:00am this morning.

Temperatures will once again drop below freezing during the early evening hours this evening and remain that way for up to 14 hours through Wednesday morning.

Take steps now to protect tender plants from the cold. To prevent freezing and possible bursting of outdoor water pipes they should be wrapped, drained, or allowed to drip slowly. Those that have in-ground sprinkler systems should drain them and cover above-ground pipes to protect them from freezing.

Counties Affected

Stewart County, Montgomery County, Robertson County, Sumner County, Macon County, Clay County, Pickett County, Houston County, Humphreys County, Dickson County, Cheatham County, Davidson County, Wilson County, Trousdale County, Smith County, Jackson County, Putnam County, Overton County, Fentress County, Perry County, Hickman County, Lewis County, Williamson County, Maury County, Marshall County, Rutherford County, Cannon County, De Kalb County, White County, Cumberland County, Bedford County, Coffee County, Warren County, Grundy County, Van Buren County, Wayne County, Lawrence County, and Giles County.


Latest Articles