62.7 F
Tuesday, May 30, 2023
HomePoliticsPresident Joe Biden approves Tennessee Disaster Declaration

President Joe Biden approves Tennessee Disaster Declaration

The White HouseWashington, D.C. – Today, Wednesday, April 21st, 2021,  President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. declared that a major disaster exists in the State of Tennessee and ordered Federal assistance to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe winter storms from February 11th to February 19th, 2021.

United States President Joe Biden.
United States President Joe Biden.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storms in the counties of Bedford County, Cannon County, Coffee County, DeKalb County, Fentress County, Jackson County, Moore County, Overton County, Pickett County, Putnam County, Scott County, Shelby County, and Smith County.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Robert J. Fenton, Senior Official Performing the Duties of the Administrator, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Department of Homeland Security, named Myra M. Shird as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected areas.

Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.


Latest Articles