67.7 F
Thursday, June 30, 2022
HomeEducationAPSU Foundation selects new members to serve for 2011

APSU Foundation selects new members to serve for 2011

Austin Peay State UniversityClarksville, TN – The Austin Peay State University Foundation has selected 10 new members for 2011.

The APSU Foundation provides the structure through which the University can work directly with special volunteers and community leaders to enhance the financial well being of the University. The Foundation’s purpose is to financially support the University.

The Foundation is a separate entity and is chartered by the state, with the authority to receive private gifts in support of the University. Through its executive committee, the Foundation makes its own policy decisions. The University provides administrative support to the Foundation.

Those who have accepted the nominations, with the year of graduation noted in parentheses if graduated from APSU, to serve include the following:

Chris Campbell (’97), of Kennesaw, GA, is an attorney and a litigation group partner in Atlanta, GA. He holds professional membership in the American Bar Association and the Defense Research Institute. He also is a member of the APSU National Alumni Association.

Gwen Conner, of Adams, works with Omni Financial in managing and supervising eight corporate offices in Georgia, North Carolina and Virginia. He had retired from Omni after 22 years of service as lending officer, counselor and senior vice president before returning to the company in his current capacity. He also is a retired after 23 years as chief warrant officer in the U.S. Army. He is a member of the Queen City Lions Club, Retired Officers Association and the APSU Governors Club board and executive committee.

Kathy B. Ellis, of Clarksville, is a certified financial planner at Raymond James Financial Services in Clarksville. She is a member of the Financial Services Institute and the Clarksville Chamber of Commerce. In addition, she serves as a board member for the Mickey Fisher Memorial Golf Tournament and Fundraiser. She attended APSU.

Allan Groves (’80), of Cunningham, is co-owner of DQ of Clarksville, which operates the DQ Grill and Chill restaurants on Wilma Rudolph Boulevard and Riverside Drive. He is an executive board member and treasurer of the Rivers and Spires Festival, the APSU Tower Club and the Governors Club.

Martha Hopson (’80), of Clarksville, is an executive board member and past chair of the Clarksville Area YMCA, past co-chair of the APSU Candlelight Ball and a member of Leadership Clarksville.

Barry Kulback (’79), of Clarksville, is a Six Sigma global tools and training leader at Ingersoll Rand/Trane Co. in Clarksville. He is a member of the River District Commission and the APSU Governors Club.

Phil O’Steen (’62), of Signal Mountain, retired from Electric Motor Sales and Supply Co. after 39 years of service, beginning as the company’s salesman, then becoming sales manager, manager and later vice president. 

Lee Peterson (’90), of Hendersonville, is the public service director for Fox 17 in Nashville. He is president of the APSU National Alumni Association. He also is a volunteer coach for soccer, baseball and basketball.

Hugh Smith, of Clarksville, retired in 2004 from the Metropolitan Nashville Airport Authority as an executive and is a retired U.S. Army lieutenant general. He is a life member of the Association of the U.S. Army, the Purple Heart Society and the Aviation Association of America. A member of the Clarksville Rotary Club, he also is chair of the Clarksville-Montgomery County Regional Airport Authority and a member of the Montgomery County Industrial Development Authority.

Stephen Springer, of Adams, is a certified public accountant for Stone, Rudolph and Henry in Clarksville. He holds business and professional memberships in the Tennessee Society of CPAs, American Institute of CPAs and the National Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors, among others. He also is a member of the Clarksville Rotary Club and Leadership Clarksville.


Latest Articles