72.2 F
Monday, June 17, 2024
HomeSports103 APSU Student Athletes named to OVC Commissioner's Honor Roll

103 APSU Student Athletes named to OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll

Austin Peay State University Sports - APSU - Governors - Lady GovsBrentwood, TN – Austin Peay State University (APSU) student-athletes accounted for 103 of a record 1,335 student-athletes named to the 2015-16 Ohio Valley Conference Commissioner’s Honor Roll, announced Wednesday by the conference office.

“Academic success is part of our department’s responsibility and a mission for our student-athletes,” said Austin Peay athletics director Ryan Ivey. “Similar to a successful on-field performance, what you do in the classroom comes down to how hard you’re willing to work; the sacrifice and dedication these student-athletes put in to have success on and off the field is second to none.”

The campus of Austin Peay State University. (APSU)
The campus of Austin Peay State University. (APSU)

The OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll recognizes those student-athletes that achieve at least a 3.25 grade-point average for the entire academic year, been eligible and used a season of competition while participating in their chosen NCAA-sponsored sport.

More than 10,500 student-athletes have been recognized on the OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll during the past 10 years.

“We are immensely proud of these students because they have not only achieved on the playing field but also in the classroom,” said OVC Commissioner Beth DeBauche. “These students have demonstrated a sense of balance already in their lives which is important to life-long success. From the League perspective we are proud because we have had continual growth in the number of honorees which demonstrates the Conference’s sustaining commitment to the broader student-athlete experience.”

The OVC will announce Academic Medal of Honor recipients, Thursday, and team and overall Academic Achievement Awards Friday.

2015-16 OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll: Austin Peay

Baseball (8) Gunnar Scholato Savanna Oliver
Cayce Bredlau Ethan Self Mel Pavel
Jared Carkuff Ryan Sinkler Kendall Vedder
Jordan Harmon Wesley Thomas Men’s Tennis (4)
Shane Lantigua Evan Toby Evan Borowski
Zach Neff Men’s Golf (2) Aleh Drobysh
Josh Rye Chris Baker Manuel Montenegro
Clayton Smithson Erik Hedberg Chad Woodham
Josh Wilson Women’s Golf (5) Women’s Tennis (4)
Women’s Basketball (9) Amber Bosworth Brittney Covington
Falon Baker Jessica Cathey Isabela Jovanovic
Tearra Banks Ashton Goodley Claudia Yanes Garcia
Tiasha Gray Taylor Goodley Lidia Yanes Garcia
Lauren Maki AnnaMichelle Moore Track and Field (19)
Symantha Norton Women’s Soccer (16) Savannah Amato
Shelby Olszewski* Brianna Avitabile Savannah Ayers
Beth Rates Amber Bateman Sarah Carpenter*
Madison Rich Kate Carney Mallory Crawford
April Rivers Katie Costantino Alexis Eldridge*
Men’s Cross Country (3) Ann Peyton Diffenbaugh Nia Gibbs-Francis
Marshall McReynolds McKenzie Dixon Dascha Hix
Martin Rejman Sophia Fabbro Breigh Jones
Elijah Wilson Nikki Filippone Chancis Jones
Women’s Cross Country (7) Isabel Holmes Unjala Lester*
Sarah Carpenter Mary Ruth Locastro Demi Nicolozakes
Alexis Eldridge* Shelby Olszewski* LaMontra Robinson
Jessica Gray Kirstin Robertson Gretchen Rosch
Unjala Lester* Courtney Sheppard Keyondria Ross
Natalie Norville Jennifer Smith Kymmalett Ross
Hanna Wise* Caroline Wistrom Sonja White
Sarah-Emily Woodward* Nicole Wojcik Hanna Wise*
Football (13) Softball (11) Ashleigh Woods
Darrien Boone Kacy Acree Sarah-Emily Woodward*
Max Ewoldt Natalie Ayala Volleyball (7)
Zeandre Floyd Courtney Brower April Adams
Benedict Louis Breanna Dickson Kelly Ferguson
Tyler Miles Chandler Groves Cecily Gable
Adam Noble Alexis Hill Aubrey Marsellis
Roderick Owens Carly Mattson Samantha Strother
Ryan Rockensuess Heather Norris Kristen Stucker
Kaylee Taff

* – Member of honor roll in two different sports, only counted once in final total.


Latest Articles