52.9 F
Monday, March 20, 2023
HomeSportsAPSU earns 11 OVC Medals of Honor; two team captured OVC Team...

APSU earns 11 OVC Medals of Honor; two team captured OVC Team Academic Achievement Awards

Austin Peay State University GovernorsAustin Peay State University student-athletes earned 11 Ohio Valley Conference Medals of Honor while two teams, women’s golf and men’s tennis, captured OVC Team Academic Awards, announced Thursday by the conference office.

The Medal of Honor is awarded annually to student-athletes who achieve the highest grade-point average in a conference-sponsored sport.  Each one of the APSU recipients held a 4.0 grade-point average in their respective sport for the year.  Heading the list is a pair of senior women’s track and field ESPN The Magazine Academic All-Americans, Carrie Burggraf (first team) and Shamai Larsen (second team). Larsen, in fact, earned Medal of Honor distinction for both women’s track and field and women’s cross county.

In addition, soccer Lauren Moon, who was co-recipient of the APSU Female Scholar-Athlete Award with Burggraf and Larsen, earned her fourth straight Medal of Honor as did men’s tennis player Leonardo Locatelli, recently named an ESPN the Magazine Academic All-District selection.

In addition, junior Catie Tucker, who recently was named to the 2010 National Golf Coaches Association (NGCA) All-American Scholar Team for NCAA Division I, also earned OVC Medal of Honor distinction.

Also earning the Medal of Honor were: women’s basketball players Kaitlyn Hill and Lauren Jones; women’s cross country runner Tracee Gruskiewicz, women’s golfer Holly Batey and men’s cross country runner Konnor Kessler.

Ohio Valley ConferenceThe Team Academic Achievement Awards is based upon the greatest percentage of student-athletes named to the OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll for the respective sport. Seven Governors tennis players earned OVC Commissioners Honor Roll while six Lady Govs golfers did the same. The APSU men’s tennis team owned a 3.676 GPA for the year while women’s golf team owned a 3.423 GPA in 2009-10.

In fact, 94 APSU student-athletes earned OVC Commissioner’s Honor Roll for 2009-10. To earn such distinction, recipients must have achieved at least a 3.25 grade point average and have been eligible and on the team throughout the competitive season in their chosen NCAA-sponsored sport or sports.

They were:

Baseball (10)

  • Lucas Anderson
  • Adam Browett
  • Blake Frazier
  • Reed Harper
  • Ryne Harper
  • Stephen Huff
  • Matt Kole
  • Josh Purcell
  • Jeff Smith
  • David Vicini

Men’s Basketball (1)

  • Wesley Channels

Women’s Basketball (8)

  • Brooke Faulkner
  • Kaitlyn Hill
  • Lauren Jones
  • Jasmine Rayner
  • Salem Richardson
  • Nikki Talley
  • Dalila Thomas
  • Darcie Warner

Men’s Cross Country (3)

  • Evan Collins
  • Konnor Kessler
  • Boniface Yator

Women’s Cross Country (5)

  • Kate Gauf
  • Tracee Gruskiewicz
  • Shamai Larsen*
  • Alyssa Molnar*
  • Hannah Scruton

Football (12)

  • Daniel Becker
  • Stanley Brooks
  • Zac Burkhart
  • Justin Cunningham
  • Noy Garrett
  • Kit Hartsfield
  • Preston Keck
  • Nick Newsome
  • Daniel Swenson
  • Tyler Trent
  • Bradley Williams
  • Isaac Ziolkowski

Men’s Golf (3)

  • Eric Anfinson
  • Brian Balthrop
  • Drew Miller

Women’s Golf (6)

  • Holly Batey
  • Tabitha Beard
  • Chelsea Harris
  • Catherine Smith
  • Catie Tucker
  • Ashley Wathen

Women’s Soccer (12)

  • Mary Beth Burchett
  • Kellie Cannon
  • Monica Dunham
  • Lydia Gennett
  • Hannah Jones
  • Sara Kluttz
  • Mackenzie Ladd
  • Lauren Moon
  • Carley Newman
  • Samantha Northrup
  • Sara Oeding
  • Laurena Robinson

Softball (9)

  • Morgan Brewer
  • Samantha Butts
  • Randal Davenport
  • Shine Huwe
  • Tia Johnson
  • Abby Mabry
  • Shelby Norton
  • Jessica Ryan
  • Brittany Williams

Men’s Tennis (7)

  • Sean Bailey
  • Renan Bezera
  • Peter Conaty
  • Leonardo Locatelli
  • Henrique Norbiato
  • John Storie
  • Amar Subasic

Women’s Tennis (2)

  • Yuki Nakamura
  • Mariana Pagan

Women’s Track & Field (9)

  • Janelle Avery
  • Carrie Burggraf
  • Whitney Darden
  • Courtney Jordan
  • Shamai Larsen*
  • Amanda McCoy
  • Alyssa Molnar*
  • Jessica Runyon-Davis

Women’s Volleyball (7)

  • Sarah Alisaleh
  • Stephanie Champine
  • Kirstin Distler
  • Paige Economos
  • Jessica Mollmann
  • Alex Sain
  • Taylor Skinner

Latest Articles